Vegan plantains in maple syrup and pineapple ice cream

DSC_8143.jpg


Yesterday was a rare occasion where I felt like having some desert shortly after lunch. It happens only once in a while as I usually avoid sweets, with the exception of the sweetener in my savory dishes.

I still wouldn't have wanted a pie or cake so I compromised with a tropical fruity desert which would not involve flour.

The other day I brought home a couple of plantains not knowing what I would do with them. I have only had plantain two or three times in my life.

DSC_8093.jpg

The first time I was blown away by how good it was. It was over thirty years ago in Cuba. I didn't know what to expect. It came as a savory side to some seafood or chicken dish (I was not vegan at the time),and rice. It was in wedges and fried with salt and some kind of red pepper like cayenne, which was unusual for Cuba especially in those days. The food there was generally bland.

I tried quite a few years ago to replicate the Cuban plantains but it just didn't wow me like the first time.

Yesterday I took the ripe plantain, sliced it and pan fried it in a little oil.

DSC_8095.jpg

DSC_8101.jpg

DSC_8105.jpg

When it was browned I added maple syrup, and cinnamon. I squeezed a little lemon juice on it and put it in the oven while I made a pineapple banana ice cream or you could call it sorbet I suppose. this was simple and fast since I had frozen pineapple in the freezer and frozen bananas are usually always in the freezer.

DSC_8111.jpg

I put around two cups of pineapple in the blender with a frozen banana, a couple drops of vanilla and just enough almond milk to make it blend. I would imagine a good food processor would work better.

When it was blended and creamy I put it in the freezer spread out on a flat plate. No need for an ice cream maker.

DSC_8117.jpg

After around fifteen twenty minutes I took it out again and blended it once more.

By this time the bananas were out of the oven. I added a little bit of additional maple syrup a side of the ice cream and a few fresh strawberries.

DSC_8129.jpg

This was so fast and simple to make and was perfect for someone like me who rarely eats a decadent desert.

DSC_8131.jpg

DSC_8122.jpg

Have a nice day and thanks for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency