Italian salad with hot peppers and olives

DSC_2225.jpg

This is my version of a salad that I used to have a long time ago, at a restaurant called The Olive Garden. Most people in North America are familiar with this chain. It was an Italian themed restaurant that many foodies made fun of. They may say that if someone took you there on a first date, they're not that into you. Eventually the one Olive Garden closed down in the city where I used to live.

When we went there back in the day, we were all obsessed with the big bowl of salad that they had. It had hot peppers and olives in it and we all loved the dressing. I know it had cheese in it but since I no longer consume animal products, I am making this without cheese. Obviously this cannot be called a copy cat recipe because of this. I will do my own Italian style dressing. The amounts given are approximate. I like to add this and that as I go.

DSC_2145.jpg

The dressing
1 cup olive oil
1/2 cup white balsamic
Juice of half a lemon
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1 tablespoon vegan mayo (optional for creamy dressing)
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon agave or other sweetener(optional)
1 tablespoon cracked black pepper
3 or 4 cloves garlic
1 small shallot
1/2 cup minced parsley (fresh or dried)
1 teaspoon oregano
Salt to taste

Blend ingredients together except for the olive oil then slowly add the olive oil while the blender is running on the slowest setting. This is to emulsify. You can just mix it in a jar but you'll have to mince by hand the garlic and shallot or use garlic powder and onion powder.

As far as I remember The Olive Garden used iceberg lettuce. In those days it was common. Now there are many green lettuces on the market to choose from. I know in some places in the world there are shortages on these things, which makes me sad. The lettuce here is mostly imported from U.S. but there is quite an abundance so I am taking advantage before winter when supplies are less and prices are doubled.

I haven't purchased iceberg lettuce in over thirty years. It was only something that showed up if you ordered a chef's salad. Now most restaurants wouldn't dream of using iceberg lettuce.

I am using romaine since it was on special and abundant in stores.

DSC_2140.jpg

DSC_2147.jpg

The toppings
Olives, tomatoes, pickled hot peppers (these are not so hot), onions, and croutons.

DSC_2134.jpg

I made the croutons from multigrain bread. Cubed and toasted in a oiled pan with seasonings.

DSC_2213.jpg

This salad is more of a starter for most people, but I can just have this as a meal. I have a smaller appetite since work is hectic lately and there's no time to eat. My stomach has shrunken. I don't mind actually.

DSC_2220.jpg

Bart Simpson says you don't win friends with salad, but I choose salad over friends.

DSC_2222.jpg

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency