FEATURED FILIPINO STREET FOOD PART 1 (PROBEN)

Good afternoon guys, on my nect blogs I will be featuring street foods from the Philippines and I will include some stories and there histories.

Our first featured food is called proben here in Cebu, Philippines. I first tasted it back on 2019 when I was working as a call center agent in Cebu business park. It was ang amazing experience and it is my go to food whenever I'm on a tight budget for food.

img_0.5719987884635361.jpg

Proben or proved, sometimes known as "chicken proben" in some parts of the Philippines, is a sort of street cuisine. It is made up primarily of the proventriculus of a chicken (thus the name), which is dipped in cornstarch or flour and deep-fried. It's either impaled on bamboo sticks and dipped in vinegar right before eating, or it's presented in a little bag of vinegar.

img_0.31656170247827226.jpg

I just found out that proben originated from Cagayan de oro City and was adopted by other cities like Cebu. “PROBEN” merchants are now restricted to a few tiny portions of Divisoria and other locations. They're normally sold in carts or mobile kiosks, where they're cooked right there on the spot, and they're highly popular among students and people on a budget. The price per stick is usually P5 (4 pieces on a stick).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency