Banh Mi Kitchen: My Favorite Kitchen

Banh Mi Kitchen.png
I'm not much of a sandwich eater---until I came across this quaint little shop at Ayala Center Cebu. Now, I drop by almost every week. To be honest, I've seen banh mi featured in food vlogs before, and I would think, "Alright, one more thing to try when I go to Vietnam." But it came to my shore instead. What can I say! 😍

20211001_161117.jpg

The golden brown buns have a crunchy crust and a spongy interior, a perfect pocket for the meat and veggies inside. So tempting to take a bite. 😋 But before that, what's inside a banh mi?

Close up - Junior.png
Sorry, but I just couldn't resist a bite. Research purposes. 😁 This one is The Classic Banh Mi junior. It has slices of pork with some fat that are marinated well and are a great combo with the cured Vietnamese ham. There are also thin slices of cucumber with shredded carrots and pickled radish. All of this on a bed of pate spread and hoisin sauce. Talk about a flavor explosion!

20211001_161253.jpg
This a cross section of the Wagyu Tapa Banh Mi. The premium beef slices are chewy and tasty. So good. But surprisingly, I still prefer the pork version. I think the sweetness of the pork fat goes better with the pate and the bread.

20210930_162337.jpg
But the most interesting thing for me is the addition of cilantro. This garnish adds a kick of mint I didn't know I needed. It balances the other flavors, so it does not cloy one's enjoyment of this savory sandwich.

20210930_162145.jpg
Another noteworthy thing about Banh Mi Kitchen is that each sandwich is wrapped in its own product info leaflet disguised as a newspaper page from yesterday's news. It is reminiscent of the traditional banh mi wrappers in Vietnam as I have seen in vlogs.

20210926_080134528_iOS.jpg
These scrumptious Vietnamese sandwiches come in two sizes: full and junior. The full size is good for sharing or when you are famished. The junior size is good enough for snacks. These sandwiches are great with tea and juice.

20210930_172907.jpg
Their kiosk is located at the Level 2 of Ayala Center Cebu. It's near Clarks and Bench, the lane across Art Bar. Dine-in seats are available for those who are fully vaccinated, provided that they can present their vax card or certificate. They also have a kiosk at Ayala Central Bloc, IT Park.

20210930_172708.jpg
For its size, taste, and quality ingredients, Banh Mi Kitchen's price is reasonable. Aside from the traditional banh mi, they also have BMKN creations and premium creations, which are fusions with other Asian specialties such as wagyu tapa, samgyupsal kimchi, kani, and lechon.

20210930_172746.jpg
Moreover, Vietnamese are famous for their drip coffee, and it is also available at Banh Mi Kitchen. Having tried it before (at my friend's restaurant though), I am more interested in their Vietnamese Coconut Coffee. However, my doctor has cautioned me against strong coffee because of hyperacidity, so I'm sticking to tea and juice for now. But if you have none of those gastrointestinal problems, then by all means, enjoy a cup. I can assure you that it is worth every sip.

20210905_082653219_iOS.jpg
Talking about tea, I love BMKN Thai milk tea. It's not as astringent to my stomach as other Thai milk tea brands. I can enjoy it with or without a banh mi without having to worry about my hyperacidity.

20210930_162120.jpg
Another thing that surprises me about Banh Mi Kitchen is its juices. I don't like commercial juices, but I like their juices. You can really taste that they are made from fresh ingredients. And they are not too sweet, just enough to enjoy the flavors. At this point, it can be said that Banh Mi Kitchen is particular about its customer's enjoyment of each bite and sip. That's why it's my favorite kitchen apart from my Mama's kitchen at home. Pictured above is Forrest Berries made with lemon and watermelon (Php 99).

20211001_160830.jpg
This is their Lemongrass and Lime iced tea (Php 99). Sorry for being cliche, but it is indeed refreshing. It's a bit spicy because of the lemongrass, and I like it.

Banh Mi Shop .png
I like how cozy their shop is. On a random afternoon, I could just have a seat and write in my journal while enjoying some Vietnamese snacks. Or just go people watching while sipping my iced tea.

20211001_164049.jpg
But sometimes, I also like sharing the moment with friends, such as when my best friend and I grabbed some of these delicious sandwiches. In this photo, we're at the rooftop garden though because we wanted to dine al fresco. 🌸

Wanna get to know me more? Click here: Get to Know April: A Self-Intro Blog

Perhaps you might also like to read another food blog: Soto Betawi: The Search for the Ultimate Indonesian Food

And please feel free to follow me to read more about my adventures and creative writing endeavors. Cheers! 🥂

Yellow and Black Global Response Engineer LinkedIn Banner.png

Images: All photos are owned by the author.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency