The traditional French Quiche, lightly revisited

Hi everyone, let's continue with the classical recipes and after the pizza and the gratin with béchamel sauce, here comes the time to deal with the quiche. We recently had a chat with @vincentnijman about this specific subject and it's made me want to get on with it sooner. This is because for some time now, all the quiches I've tasted didn't seem very good. Let's say an average of one piece of quiche per week...

It's really a traditional recipe and I was surprised that it could be badly prepared, but rather than just criticize it, I wanted to stick with it to see what could be done...

DSC_0235.JPG

This time I prepared all the ingredients beforehand, ready to be mixed, so it's a bit easier for me !

So for the ingredients you will need :

For the dough :

  • 200 grams of flour.
  • 75 grams of butter.
  • 1 egg yolk.
  • 7 to 10cl of water.
  • A pinch of salt.

For the filling :

  • 2 eggs plus the white of the one in the pastry.
  • 20 cl of fresh cream.
  • 10 cl of milk (I used oat milk).
  • Grated cheese, in this case Emmental and Parmesan.
  • About 125 grams of bacon.
  • 1/4 Chinese cabbage.
  • salt - pepper - nutmeg.

DSC_0236.JPG

DSC_0239.JPG

DSC_0240.JPG

DSC_0242.JPG

The first thing to do is to prepare the dough, which should be left to rest in the fridge for between fifteen minutes and half an hour.

DSC_0245.JPG

DSC_0249.JPG

DSC_0247.JPG

DSC_0250.JPG

DSC_0254.JPG

In order, you must mix your butter with the flour, sanding it well as for a crumble. Add the egg yolk and salt. And then very gradually add the water while mixing.

When you can make a round ball that doesn't stick too much and is homogeneous, it's good. Cover it and put it in the fridge.

Let's go on with the filling now.

DSC_0261.JPG

DSC_0268.JPG

DSC_0263.JPG

Mix the two and a half eggs with the cream, milk, cheese(s) and salt - pepper - ground nutmeg. Once mixed, set aside.

DSC_0275.JPG

DSC_0280.JPG

DSC_0294.JPG

DSC_0283.JPG

DSC_0306.JPG

Here I tried lardons with Chinese cabbage and I must say it was excellent! You can also try it with leeks or small fresh onions. I start by grilling the lardons and then add the chopped cabbage. After a few moments, I leave it on the fire and put a lid on it.

DSC_0296.JPG

A little floral interlude with these anemones and daffodils that keep me company while I make my quiche ;-)

DSC_0311.JPG

DSC_0315.JPG

DSC_0318.JPG

DSC_0320.JPG

Butter and flour your dish. Next, we'll work on the dough. If you have followed the proportions, everything should go well... Fold it into quarters and place it in your dish without tearing it.

DSC_0321.JPG

DSC_0324.JPG

DSC_0332.JPG

Remove the excess pastry from the edges (and make a small fruit tart on the side like I did). Prick your bottom with a fork and add the bacon and cabbage mixture.

DSC_0335.JPG

DSC_0338.JPG

Pour in the rest of the filling and distribute it evenly.

Bake in your preheated oven at 180° for about 20-30 minutes.

DSC_0344 copy.jpg

Here is the result in the last rays of the sun...! I think we're in for a treat :D

DSC_0362.JPG

DSC_0364.JPG

Above, the small apple pie, just with a little sugar and cinnamon sprinkled on the fruit.

DSC_0370.JPG

And this is the result in parts. The dough holds together perfectly, the filling is perfect, not too soft and not too hard and dry. I'm not ashamed to sound like I'm bragging, but of all the quiches I've eaten in the last few years, this is the best. And I'm not telling you this because I made it, but just because I'm objective about cooking and if it had been bad, I would have told you too ^^ !

I hope that this presentation of my recipe will make you want to try it. All in all, if I take away the time spent taking pictures, I think it took me 30 minutes for the preparation and as much for the cooking.

Now you know everything :) Thank you for your visit ! Take care and see you soon,

<3

@anttn






Bonjour à tous, on continue sur cette lancée des recettes classiques et après la pizza et le gratin à la sauce béchamel, voici qu'est venu le temps de nous occuper de la quiche. Nous avons récemment échangé avec @vincentnijman sur ce sujet et cela m'a poussé à m'y mettre plus rapidement. Cela doublé du fait que de puis quelques temps, toutes les quiches que je goûtais ne me semblais pas très bonnes. Faisons une moyennne d'une part de quiche par semaine...

C'est vraiment une recette traditionnelles et je m'étonnais qu'elle puisse être mal préparée, mais plutôt que de simplement critiquer, j'ai voulu m'y coller pour voir ce qu'on pouvais faire...

DSC_0235.JPG

Cette fois-ci, j'ai préparé tous les ingrédients en amont, déjà prêts à être mélangés, c'est un peu plus simple pour moi !

Alors pour les ingrédients justement, vous aurez besoin :

Pour la pâte :

  • 200 grammes de farine.
  • 75 grammes de beurre.
  • 1 jaune d'oeuf.
  • 7 à 10cl d'eau.
  • une pincée de sel.

Pour la garniture :

  • 2 oeufs plus le blanc de celui de la pâte.
  • 20 cl de crème fraîche.
  • 10 cl de lait (j'ai pris du lait d'avoine).
  • fromage râpé, ici de l'emmental et du parmesan.
  • 125 grammes environ de lard.
  • 1/4 de chou chinois.
  • sel - poivre - noix de muscade.

DSC_0236.JPG

DSC_0239.JPG

DSC_0240.JPG

DSC_0242.JPG

La première chose à faire c'est la pâte car il faut qu'elle repose entre un quart d'heure et une demi-heure au frigidaire.

DSC_0245.JPG

DSC_0249.JPG

DSC_0247.JPG

DSC_0250.JPG

DSC_0254.JPG

Dans l'ordre, vous devez mélanger votre beurre avec la farine, bien le sabler comme pour un crumble. Ajouter le jaune d'oeuf et le sel. Et puis très progressivement rajouter l'eau tout en mélangeant.

Lorsque vous pouvez faire une boule qui ne colle pas trop et est homogène, c'est bon. Couvrez-là et mettez au frigidaire.

Passons à la garniture maintenant.

DSC_0261.JPG

DSC_0268.JPG

DSC_0263.JPG

Mélangez les deux oeufs et demi avec la crème, le lait, le ou les fromages et le sel -poivre - noix de muscade moulus. Une fois que c'est mélangé, mettre de côté.

DSC_0275.JPG

DSC_0280.JPG

DSC_0294.JPG

DSC_0283.JPG

DSC_0306.JPG

Ici, j'ai fait un essai des lardons avec du chou chinois et je dois dire que c'était excellent ! On peut aussi essayer avec des poireaux ou des petits oignons frais. Je commence par faire griller les lardons puis j'ajoute le chou haché. Après quelques instants, je laisse sur le feu éteint et je mets un couvercle.

DSC_0296.JPG

Petit intermède floral avec ces anémones et jonquilles qui me tiennent compagnie pendant la confection de ma quiche ;-)

DSC_0311.JPG

DSC_0315.JPG

DSC_0318.JPG

DSC_0320.JPG

Beurrez et farinez votre plat. Ensuite, on s'attaque à la pâte. Si vous avez suivi les proportions, tout devrait bien se passer... Pliez-la en quatre pour la déposer dans votre plat sans la déchirer.

DSC_0321.JPG

DSC_0324.JPG

DSC_0332.JPG

Retirez le trop plein de pâte sur les bords (et fait comme moi une petite tarte aux fruits à côté). Piquez avec une fourchette votre fond de plat et ajouter le mélange de lardons et de chou.

DSC_0335.JPG

DSC_0338.JPG

Versez le reste de la garniture et répartissez le tout de façon homogène.

Enfournez dans votre four préchauffé à 180° pour envion (plus ou moins) 20-30 minutes.

DSC_0344 copy.jpg

Voilà le résultat dans les derniers rayons du soleil..! Je sens qu'on va se régaler :D

DSC_0362.JPG

DSC_0364.JPG

Ci-dessus, la petite tarte aux pommes, juste avec un peu de sucre et de cannelle saupoudrée sur les fruits.

DSC_0370.JPG

Et voilà le résultat en part. La pâte se tient parfaitement, la garniture est parfaite, ni trop molle ni trop dure et sèche. Je n'ai pas honte de paraître de me vanter, mais de toutes les quiches que j'ai pu manger durant les dernières années, celle-ci est la meilleure. Et je ne vous dis pas cela parce que c'est moi qui l'ai faite, mais juste parce que je suis objectif sur la cuisine et si ça avait été mauvais, je vous l'aurait dit aussi ^^ !

J'espère que cet exposé de ma recette vous donnera envie de vous y mettre. En tout et pour tout, si j'enlève le temps passé à prendre des images, je pense que cela m'a pris 30 minutes pour la préparation et autant pour la cuisson.

Voilà, vous savez tout :) Je vous remercie pour votre visite ! Prenez bien soin de vous et à très bientôt,

<3

@anttn


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency