Oven baked Swisschard macaroni vs. buckwheat and quinoa moussaka

Today was my turn to cook, the last few days others had to think about what to prepare, and I literally had a day off. Did I miss the kitchen - YES, did I also need a break - YES. In essence, I still consume most of what is on the table, except that the consumption of sugar and flour has decreased significantly (someone is not very happy with that decision and is already persuading me so that I can prepare some muffins in the near future). I can't help but look back at the last post, and praise the fact that I'm already a few kilos down. This is the third week that I have taken more seriously of what I eat. Today, there were two oppositions on the menu, the family wanted baked macaroni with Swiss chard, and I had to find an alternative for myself.

Swiss chard has leafed out after a couple of watering and a little recent rain, finally big enough for trimming!

How did I make quinoa and buckwheat moussaka?

Before the actual preparation, I soaked the quinoa and buckwheat in warm water, let the grains swell so that the later preparation would go faster, finely chop a head of onion and one carrot, sauté in oil.
In addition to the onions, I added spring ones that were a little bruised in the garden due to the sudden frost (onions regenerate easily and will soon grow back stronger). Add chopped Swiss chard and fry all together for a few minutes more.

This sauté will serve me for both types of dishes, I settled aside a portion for myself.

...and added a cup of pureed tomatoes, soaked quinoa and buckwheat, season to taste. My choice of spices were pepper, crushed hot allspice, garlic and a pinch of rosemary.

Zucchini, oh no! Again! But it is only at this moment that would make this moussaka a real moussaka. Otherwise, this is what they look like after a few months in the freezer, nothing has changed significantly except maybe a few percent of water, the taste, believe it or not, has remained the same.

(in case you were wondering if it is possible to freeze zucchini, yes)

Arrange the zucchini in an oiled baking pan, then salt and pepper them, spread the chard, quinoa and buckwheat sauce evenly, cover with the rest of the sliced zucchini in rings.

Although zucchini contain a large percentage of water, during baking in the oven they can become quite dry, and then all flavor is lost. To prevent this, I covered them with previously moistened baking paper.

Bake for about 30 minutes at 250c.
Now it's the turn of the macaroni, they are cooked al-dente and added to the pan with the rest of the chard filling.

When I prepare them in the oven, I never cook the pasta "till the end", always leave them half done, as they will pick up all the flavors of the other ingredients.

Does the shape of the paste affect the end result?

Yes, depending on the other ingredients, not all forms of paste are intended for all combinations. For example, spirals are suitable for sauces or dishes that are more creamy, while shells go perfectly in cold salads.

I found that there are a total of 34 shapes, and you can see the others and their desired combinations here.

After frying, straight to an ovenproof dish, bake around 15 minutes on 200c.

While the crowd around the oven clears, let's get to know quinoa a bit better, what are its benefits and what can be made from it. Primarily, once upon a time, it was used to feed cattle, it is rich in various nutritious minerals, and in addition to all that, what suits me most about this cereal is that it has a low glycemic index. A fun fact is that it contains the same percentage of phosphorus as fish! Well, for all those who don't have fish available, here's a substitute. Otherwise, it is a herbaceous plant and these small grains are its fruits, which, in addition to all the above, are also rich in protein and vitamin B, lecithin and selenium, which are good allies in the fight against cancer.
So tiny, yet powerful.
In case you have difficulty with digestion, do not despair and include quinoa in your diet, its abundance of fiber will surprise you. If you are pregnant, go for it, it taste lot's better than fish oil!

Can sweets be made of quinoa?

YES, and so yummy ones! Especially because it leaves a nutty grainy taste in the mouth. I had my version of Raffaello with it, but I'll leave that for some upcoming sweeter post.

What about buckwheat?

... has been on my menu for a long time, but I must admit that I neglected it in the last years. Now that gluten is out of the game, buckwheat is making a big comeback because it does not contain gluten, it is also perfect for losing weight as it keeps you full for a long time (thanks to the fibers it contains), it is also a perfect antioxidant and with regular consumption, your body will to be perfectly cleansed without the hassle and various supplements. Research has shown that it is also beneficial in case of anemia, strengthens bones and improves mood. Buckwheat flour is also something that you can afford yourself, and make breads and pastas from it. The taste in itself is not particularly wooow, but with a couple of added spices you will have a perfect meal (I just looked up on the Internet that in salty versions they go well with basil, thyme and oregano), I very often consume it in the form of porridge with the addition of apple and cinnamon.

Moussaka without toppings is also not moussaka, right?
Two eggs, a cup of yogurt and half a cup of milk for macaroni. Mix everything together, pour over the freshly taken out of the oven, and then bake.

Voilá, ten minutes later one dish is done! And my alt3rnative one is about to be baked with one egg mixed with a cup of yogurt and a splash of milk.
Optionally sprinkle with chopped parsley.

Honestly, the taste is amazingly good, almost as if it were meat, and the combination of flavors went perfectly with the grated beetroot and carrot salad.

(note to myself, don't forget to plant beetroots!)

untitled_linkedin_banner_1584_120_px_.png

Bon appetite!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency