5-Minutes Freewrite: Carrot Cake


img_0.35352826318153124.jpg

"Mama, for my birthday can you bake me a carrot cake? I love your carrot cake!" That's what my children have been requesting for their birthdays for the past few years.

Yes, my whole family loves carrot cake! And, I happen to have a foolproof recipe which I won't be sharing this time, haha.

When I started my baking pleasures, I remember the first cake I tried my hands on was carrot cake. Flour and I unfortunately have not figured each other out yet, yea it is what it is— a love hate relationship, so my first carrot cake came out from the rice cooker. Can you believe it? A rice cooker baked carrot cake. Hah!

After a few rounds of tweaking the recipe to our tastebuds I made some to share with a couple of friends, too. I remember one of them was @iamjadeline, hahaha!! (Hope it wasn't too bad!) Some years back when my hands weren't too full, I baked a carrot cake with cream cheese frosting in a shape of a rainbow for my husband's birthday. I remember wishing him a great year ahead and that his dreams would come true, and most importantly, the One who made the heavens is faithful to His promises.


img_0.6221892218536342.jpg

And by the look on my son's face, you could see that he was wayyyyy more excited over the cake than his dad did, haha!


img_0.3347114663747197.jpg

A couple of years back, my beautiful firstborn requested for a carrot cake for her 5th birthday, and I happily obliged!


img_0.9209954403681508.jpg

It isn't that she has stopped requesting since, but that time has become more hectic and all the more when our third and littlest came along. I wanted to bake one for myself earlier this month for my birthday but was too exhausted to do so. Maybe I can arrange and plan a surprise for my middle child who will be having his 4th birthday next month! To be honest, I kinda miss baking my own carrot cake, too!

Fingers crossed, we shall see!

How about you, do you like carrot cake, too?

*All photos shared in this post are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency