Sourdough failure may be because of the flour you use

116087226_1002244283540518_3033696327733901913_n.jpg

Overtime, I tried to make sourdough starter with flour from different brands. Those from supermarkets, bio stores, drugstores, and mills.

I don't mention particular brand name but I found that I fail always with wheat flour from a brand. Under the same condition, in my kitchen close to stoves, I could make one with wheat flour from other brand.

I make sour dough from organic whole wheat spelt flour sold at a German drugstore dm for wheat based bread. Surprisingly it works the best so far for me. For rye sourdough, I use flour from a mill.

So if you wonder why you fail to make sourdough starter, it's not your fault. It may be an option to change the flour you use.

And once you successfully make your sourdough, you can keep it dried. Here is a post from @apsu. I think @muscara or @breadcentric might mention this somewhere too.

Tutorial: Drying up your sourdough starter and how to activate it by @apsu

Happy sourdough baking!

image.png

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency