New Purchases For Me And A Talk About Why I Buy Photograph NFTs On Lensy

Screenshot from 2021-04-19 17-56-18.png

So I bought some more NFTs off Lensy a while ago...

You remember that Photography focused NFT site that was released basically alongside the successful NFTShowroom sometime last year, right? Yeah, I didn't think so. Photography-based NFTs just haven't taken off the same way that digital art NFTs have. This is a shame, considering that many photographers pride themselves on the exclusiveness of their shots when purchased. Now, I'm sure a large part of the hurdle is the "established crowd" of photographers who already have physical and digital purchases of their shots available. But I think they may be missing out when it comes to the new way to own your art.

Screenshot from 2021-04-18 13-03-10.png

A refresher on NFTs and the Photography market.

Traditionally, the market for photography and other digital art has been limited to stock photography licensing, printmaking, and selling the rights to a work of art. Over the last decade, market saturation has exploded to an all-time high, and due to that, it is increasingly difficult for most artists to generate revenue with their work. NFTs are an entirely new market and mindset for artists. Buyers interested in art and technology are now chomping at the bit to support their favorite artists as well as acquiring scarce digital assets that offer the potential for appreciation. NFTs are a wonderful thing for artists and buyers alike due to the unique structure of blockchain technology. Each transaction is recorded for all to see and cannot be undone, erased, or misplaced. Additionally, artists can benefit from the secondary market by including a commission in their NFTs that will pay them on any subsequent sales of their NFT. But maybe one of the most important things for artists is that they can retain the full copyright, unlike many licensing agreements. This may just be the most revolutionary feature for photographers and artists today.

Screenshot from 2021-04-19 18-14-30.png

So why am I buying NFTs?

Well, there are several reasons that I buy photography NFTs. Top of the list? It's FUN! It's just plain fun to collect things. From Pet Rocks to Pokemon cards, collecting objects being pleasing to the mind seems to be an ingrained human trait.

A sizeable portion of my collection is plants and nature, which I tend to chalk up to my northern life. May 2 today and we still have several feet of snow on the tundra of Nunavut. I do not expect to see plant life until the beginning of June! I NEED SOME GREEN IN MY LIFE! Even if it's just a photo.

My final reason for owning photographic NFTs is because of the Stock Photography potentials. You can buy photographs with commercial licences available and then use them in your blog! Or use them on a website or in a video. Jaguar gets mad that your photos appear to be from somewhere else? BAM toss him the link to the chain showing proof of ownership!

https://he.dtools.dev/tx/aba2582a3ceb13541cc08d827b43e0003f4a8753

Well, those are some of my reasons for buying Photograph NFTs, anyway. I think they are a much more useful investment for me compared to digital artwork considering that I am much more into photography and using photography in my blogs instead of digital creations.

Are you into the NFT scene? Why do you buy?

(Full disclosure, this blog was written over two weeks ago but is only being posted now)

hive_divider.png

Find my artwork for sale exclusively on NFTShowroom.com
Find my photographs of Nunavut scenery and Wildlife on Lensy.io
Follow me on twitter here: Hive Related Account / Photography and Art Account
I am also on Instagram: But only Photography and Art
More art on DeviantArt at: Ice-O-Lated
Hive Divider provided by @thepeakstudio

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2XuNozdMysq1YNDRbt9X9VeerNm1981Q9QbBMDAvYrEjJ67Z3EpbrLRdsnBevZ2F6H5WcoSPwRUixeZ8mPnXPDCwCS.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency