Back on the Health Train (toot toot!) GREEN SMOOTHIE

6A058616-8A82-4DF4-A782-CCDFB1E33E2B.jpeg

Last week was a bit of a disaster healthy-eating wise. As I mentioned in a previous post I’ve been on a little weight loss journey over the last 6 months. I’m not particularly interested in a sudden drop in Kg’s as much as feeling healthier and more vibrant! And last week did not help me towards that goal.

Firstly we ate far too many carbs, pizza, crumbed chicken burgers and even a night out for ribs!!! And boy oh boy could I feel it. It always amazes me how our bodies respond to what we put into it for better or worse.

So this week I am turning over a new leaf (again) and getting back to my yummy smoothies combined with Intermittent Fasting. In my case the IF only works if I make healthy choices in my eating window. So now is the time for healthy choices.

Today I’m kicking off with a Green smoothie. My nutribullet is my best friend in this area and was such a good investment. I use whatever is in my kitchen, but usually decide on a colour smoothie and work it out that way. It might not be the most scientific method, but it works for me. GREEN!

My special ingredient today is Kiwi 🥝

Kiwi is a major antioxidant ie. good anti inflammatory, super high in Vitamin C (possibly the highest natural source), high in fibre and potassium, increases heart health and is known to helps with asthma too.

5EC5025D-270C-44C2-A8C5-0D94CCF7B62F.jpeg

KIWI GREEN SMOOTHIE
1 Banana small to medium (high energy, fibre, potassium)
2 Kiwi’s (high Vit C & antioxidants)
2 Tbsp Coconut Oil (good fats)
1 Tbsn local Raw Honey (high antioxidants especially good for allergies if from your local area)
Small handful Spinach (destalked - the stalks make it bitter)
4 small ice cubes (the ice actually helps to crush the ingredients and make a smoother consistency)
1/3 cup water

1906B92E-D6AA-4101-936F-BABE8D259F82.jpeg

Zing it it in the NutriBullet for a few seconds and there you go! A super healthy smoothie. Today this will be my lunch substitute and hopefully I can stick it out and avoid the snacks (my downfall).

7C07DC69-3569-436E-B0D6-3E3FCB570EEB.jpeg

And then for dinner tonight I’m making roasted Chicken pieces and roasted Veg. There’s enough pumpkin in the veg mix to cover the carbs, so no extra carb serving is needed. Pray for me - this is going to be tough!

Now that I have posted means I’m accountable to you all and need some moral support. I’ll check back in soon with another coloured smoothie and let you know how it’s going.

BC747C37-9AC2-4604-9BE8-08E7DA3BD780.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency