On Enoughness

Abundance Tribe this week asks:

If There was one message that you could get across to a large group of people. What would your message be and Who would those people be ?

This week I've been thinking a lot about 'enoughness'. When we believe we aren't enough, we work tirelessly toward what we are told is better: whiter, prettier, younger, richer. And if we are judging ourselves like this, then we are sure as hell doing it to others.

And if others are 'less than' then that gives us reason to disenfranchise, belittle, ignore, separate ourselves. The entire capitalist model is built in YOU ARE NOT ENOUGH. Because if we didn't feel the need to better ourselves, why would we buy in to what they are selling?

I listened to a great podcast a while back on radical self love - for the life of me I can't find it - and the speaker was talking about how self love is a radical act because it came from a position of being enough, despite where society attempts to position your body, sex, social standing, rank, colour and so on. When we love ourselves, and, by extension, others, it's a radical act because it refuses to participate in the institutionalised madness of a capitalistic ladder that keeps those in power, powerful.

Yes, I'm good enough even though I don't have a huge house on the coast Yes, I'm good enough even though I'm nearly 50 and menopausal - unyoung, unpure, unthin. Yes, I'm good enough even though I don't have the yoga body on the cover of a magazine where a bikini clad babe bends backwards on a Balinese beach. Yes, I'm good enough even though I don't want to work a career for some kind of stiletto'd success. Yes, I'm good enough because I only had one child. Yes, I'm good enough even though I don't wear makeup, drive a new car, have a million dollar ring on my finger. Yes, I'm good enough even though I was a single mum, child out of wedlock. Yes, I'm good enough even though the trauma that has been placed on my woman's body happened because I live in a world where men think that that is okay, or society does not support men to be better because they don't need to be by virtue of their maleness.

And that's just my rage against the machine. I'm not black or disabled or both, or a woman of colour with a disability, which is just about a hard an apology as you can be given.


image.png
Image Source

There's a lot decidely yogic about this idea of 'enoughness' - it fits with everything I've learnt. There's no difference, only oneness - it's only our discriminating minds that have made this reality so, manifested the world we live in. Our heart of hearts is pure love - there is no need for 'acceptance' when we simply are. There's no 'not enough' - simply is-ness - a beautiful, vibrating, achingly vital beingness that defies all attempts to make it something that can be profitted from, downtrodden, abused, ignored, used, sold, belittled, judged.

There's so much to say and expand upon with this response.

But I think I'd rather do a poem.


Hey you, the girl who wakes up next to a man,
Who, in simmering unspent rage said last night:
At you going out like that?
And you apologised.
Changed your heels.
Tugged on a different skirt, jacket, colour of your lips.
Get up and leave now, kiss him goodbye.

You are not an apology.

You, with the stretch marks silver and purple on your beautiful belly
And your breasts that fall just right, because they are yours, and nourish children -

And you, silver haired crone, with the limp still from falling off a horse when you were 12,
And the scar on your face from when you drove into a tree drunk when he left you for the one with no scars yet,

Who could not look in the mirror -
Butterfly sparkles were dusted with shame
Like you, not enough.

And the you who wanted to be a - doesn't matter - lawyer, landowner?
Looked at the ladder and couldn't even put a foot on the top rung
Kept ... slipping.
They will find you one day, having given up
But you are enough -

As were you, who, crippled limbs,
Let the boy inside you because it was hard enough to be wanted

But
You
Still
Apologised

Just for being beautifully, magically, extraordinarily, more than

Enough.

With Love,


CommunityIIDiscord
mindfullife2.png
Supporting Meditators on HIVE

www.naturalmedicine.io



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency