Homemade Nectarine & Almond Chocolate

I am drowning in a huge tree full of nectaries. Sorbet. Stewed. Stood on and slipped on when they fall to the the path and fought over by parrots, they've been literally dripping from the tree. I adore them - they taste of summer.

IMG_20210213_195744_948.jpg

One solution has been to dry them. My dehydrator has been working overtime drying fruit, and the nectarines are delicious this way. I really don't understand how commerical dried fruit tastes of nothing, or just of sugar - do it yourself and the taste is retained. I love them as a snack or on my muesli, or even in a salad!

20210215_181300.jpg

But you know, if you put chocolate on anything it's even better, right? @trucklife-family this week inspired me to make chocolate again, which I haven't done in ages. It's so darn easy I don't know why we bother buying it.

Just think half coconut oil, half cacao. You don't even need a recipe! So say one cup of melted coconut oil, you'll need a cup of cacao. More cacao if you want to knock your socks off with some extra chocolate.

Flavouring is up to you. For this one, it was dried nectarines, a handful of almonds and a few drops of vanilla essence. I would have added chilli but Jamie's not a fan. A pinch of salt can be nice. This one has dried calendula on top because you know how much I love that on basically everything - it's so pretty!

And if you don't have chocolate moulds, just pour onto wax paper in a tray and pop in the fridge.

20210215_135955.jpg

My son and his girlfriend did a quick drive by last night to pick up a box of nectarines and drop off two jars of sugar free stewed plums (also from my tree). They were stoked to get some chocolate as part of the deal.

20210215_140226.jpg

Well, best be off - I've run out of coconut oil and cacao, and if I want to feed this chocolate habit, I best be up shop.

Do you make your own homemade chocolate? What's your favourite flavour?

With Love,


CommunityIIDiscord
mindfullife2.png
Supporting Meditators on HIVE

www.naturalmedicine.io


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency