Therapeutic Value of Photography - Capturing Beauty, Inspiring Awe and Lifting Spirits…

Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life Pablo Picasso picture.jpg

source

Have you ever been moved by a piece of art?

I feel most fortunate to have been able to stand in a room full of works from the masters. It was glorious to behold the magnificence that emanated from these art pieces. I could stand for hours taking in the emotions captured and looking at the beauty and fine details.

A Visit to Dr. Jeffrey Lant's Red Room

red room panaramic 1000 x 348.jpg

It is said that when you view a piece of art, you can experience what the creator of that art was experiencing!

So whether you create art or appreciate it, it does not really matter!

Variety of form and brilliancy of color in the object presented to patients are an actual means of recovery. ~ Florence Nightingale

Hospitals have been covering their stark institutional wall with bright photo prints and have found the patients spirits were lifted and the recovery period was reduced!

The mood changes when our beautiful nature photos are placed on the walls, providing color, comfort, and hope to patients, caregivers, and loved ones.” ~ Elaine Poggi, founder of The Foundation for Photo/Art in Hospitals who's message is “Humanizing Hospitals Through Healing Photo Art.”

What happens when you put a camera into the hands of a child who's creativity has not been stifled?

It can be wondrous! Allowing you to see what they are seeing.

Seeing the world through the eyes of a child!

It opens conversations allowing them to express themselves and with that sharing, self confidence is built.

It is a medium for telling stories, a form of communication.

Photography "with a picture is worth a thousand words" has the power to help alleviate feelings of isolation.

Art helps communicate our inner feelings and our creativity which is often locked in our minds. It can give us a deeper understanding of emotions and even self-awareness.

Remove art from the human race and you will find a different being!

We are surrounded by art in our homes, although many of us might not even be aware of it. Besides the paintings or the framed photos on the wall, we may have quilts on our bed with artistic designs or tea towels, even the mugs and tea cups we use may have beautiful prints. How we decorate our surroundings can affect our mood and emotions. Art can bring us joy and a sense of awe!

Awe has many important implications for our well-being. Experiencing awe can give us a sense of hope and provide a feeling of fulfillment.

This was quoted from a physiologist, Shilagh Mirgain, PhD. on the University of Wisconsin Health website.

Have you ever wanted to capture some of the beauty of nature?

natural world with 4 images flora fauna boreal forest.jpg

This is where I first began my journey into photography.

I had moved up to the Boreal forest to build my home and was surrounded with immense beauty! I first wanted to capture this beauty through oil painting but alas, my skills were lacking and my patience not enough to allow me to fulfill that desire, so I turned to photography.

Where the spirit does not work with the hand there is no art. ~ Leonardo da Vinci

Suddenly my eyes became more open to the beauty and wonder of the natural world as I began to look closer at the intricate patterns and designs of nature.

Jack Frost Artistry on the Windowpane

streaks of jack frost artistry on the window pane.JPG

Feathery Hoar Frost on a Blade of Grass

close up of leaf looking frost on brown blade of grass.JPG

I wanted to take it all in, being under the awe inspiring expansive skies with the glorious colors of the rising and setting sun.

Setting Sun Setting the Sky a Blaze

sunset colors ablaze over tree tops.JPG

To be lying beneath the celestial lights of the night skies and visit the moon!

Mystery of the Full Moon

spruce silhoueted with glow of full moon light colored clouds like masterpiece painting Jan 10.JPG

Closeup of the Full Moon

full moon Jan 10 2020 good.JPG

Receiving the beauty of the flora and fauna around me and feeling that joy in being able to share that through my photographs, something I could do far better than with my words.

I found Steemit to be a wonderful place to share these photos with people all over the world! Visit my blog and watch for my #Wednesdaywalk where I share a lot of my photography.

Art and photos has the ability to break through barriers of language or if we come from different cultural background, cultural barriers.

I feel it is a worthwhile endeavor to increase moments of pleasure, peace, and harmony which I often find as I stop and take the time to be absorbed, photographing the natural world, having that sense of awe.

As I capture that beauty and wonder my hope is it can inspire others, sparking a sense of joy and wonder in them too!

This article was inspired by the Natural Medicine Art Therapy Challenge Details found ĥere

Images were of my creation except the top photo which is sourced.

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io



MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency