Roasted Cauliflower Bowl with Hempe & Job's Tears {Vegan, Soy-Free}


As much as I cook every week, not every meal is worth sharing. Some meals, however, are so good it would be rude not to write a bit about them. It's also fun when I come across some new items to add to the meal prep rotation to share with you all, too! This particular meal was not only delicious (and easy to make), but it utilized two new finds that I was really excited about trying in a meal.


The first is one that a blogging pal first shared that really intrigued me (thanks @artemislives). An ancient grain called Job's Tears (Coix lacryma-jobi). I was visiting a local oil and vinegar shop--Olea Oliva--when I just happened to see they actually had this unique find in stock! The owners are a lovely couple, with deep knowledge in health and wellness. Smita, who was there making meals to donate to a local shelter when I stopped by, is a trained Ayurvedic chef. She said she often uses Job's Tears in meals when cooking for cancer patients as it is reported to have properties that may inhibit cancer cell growth, among other possible benefits. Of course as with many whole grains, it also contains a good amount of protein and fiber packaged together in one plant to help promote heart health and a healthy blood pressure, not to mention keeping your beneficial gut bacteria happy and well fed!

Besides all of the possible health benefits, it is a wonderful addition to my whole grain arsenal for the taste and texture alone! I love how it cooked up with good body, and a slightly chewy texture with a mildly nutty flavor. I love grains that are hearty but don't weigh you down after a meal, and this surely fits the bill. I am definitely going back to buy a few more bags. I know one or two people who might just get one for a holiday gift....

The second new item I found on a rare trip to Whole Foods. I love traditional tempeh, but there are more and more options popping up of a similar item made from other legumes for those who cannot tolerate soy. Or for people like me who just enjoy trying all different things. I saw this variation of tempeh made from hemp hearts and chickpeas and just had to grab a box.

Upon opening the package, it looks just like the traditional version I have bought from the store. It held together well for slicing or chopping, so I thought it would be nice to put together with vegetables for a sheet pan meal. Well, the Job's Tears had to cook in a pot, but the rest of the meal went on one pan for an easy Sunday dinner.

I couldn't help but snitch a piece when it came straight out of the oven because I was so curious to try it. Luckily I let it cool just enough so as not to burn my mouth and ruin the flavor. It was rich and nutty, with a very nice undertone of umami from the mycelium culture and mushroom extract that were in the ingredients. The pieces browned up nicely in the oven without getting overly dry despite me only using a tiny amount of oil for cooking. There is a bit of coconut oil in the product, so that might explain it since most tempeh I have bought before doesn't have any added oil since soybeans contain a good amount of natural fat. Another winner that I would definitely buy again for a treat!

Of course the beautiful multi-colored cauliflower florets from the farmers market helped round out the meal, along with some of the oil and vinegar I also purchased with the grains. Just because it is the week of Thanksgiving doesn't mean we're eating lettuce and water until then. Plus I have to have my energy for the food I'm prepping for the actual holiday on Thursday!

Roasted Veggies & Hempe

  • 1 (12-ounc) package Hempe or sub regular tempeh, cubed
  • 1 head of cauliflower, broken down into florets or 1 bag florets
  • 1 sweet onion, peeled & sliced
  • light drizzle of olive oil (I used Porcini Mushroom & Sage infused oil for an extra hit of flavor)
  • seasoning (Krakow Nights from Penzeys)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Place all of your vegetables on a lined sheet pan and lightly drizzle with your oil of choice and a sprinkling of seasoning. I enjoyed the flavor of the mushroom and sage oil with the Polish-style seasoning I had, but play around with any combination you like! Roast for about 35-40 minutes, stirring once or twice for even browning.

Job's Tears with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  • 1 cup dried Job's Tears, soaked in filtered water for about 8 hours
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, I used dry-packed so I also soaked those for a few hours to rehydrate then chop
  • 2 tablespoons Lambruso Balsamic Vinegar (can also sub Sherry vinegar or another similar variety)

Smita gave me the tip to soak my grains for the day to make them cook just a bit quicker. She also said to add in a bit of vinegar to the cooking liquid to infuse the flavor into the grains. After soaking, I rinsed and drained the grains, added them to a pan with water to cover by about an inch and then added in the chopped sun-dried tomatoes and vinegar. I brought the mixture to a boil, then reduced to a simmer, covered and let cook for about 40 minutes. Any extra liquid I drained off once the grains were tender.

To complete my bowls I chopped up fresh leafy greens from the farmers market to place in the bottom of two bowls. Then I layered on a few scoops of the grains, followed by some of the roasted vegetables. I finished off each bowl with an extra fresh drizzle of the Lambrusco vinegar for a bright note to bring it all together. So incredibly tasty and satisfying! I was able to get 4 servings out, but depending upon your appetite you may get more (or less).

Now some of you may look twice at my use of olive oil since most of my recipes are oil-free. I love and respect the work of Dr. Greger at nutritionfacts.org, and he is one of the researchers who recommends a salt-oil-sugar free way of eating. However, there is a lot of research out there that also touts the benefits of high quality extra virgin olive oil. For right now, I still don't plan on using much oil in my meal prep, but as an active, healthy individual I'm not too worried about any impact to my health with the occasional use of a bit of good oil. I still try to limit my intake from processed foods and will also continue to make and share plenty of oil-free meals.

I wanted to touch on that because it is really easy to fall into the trap of trying to be too perfect in our lifestyle choices. Then we either quit because we can't hit these often unrealistic expectations we set for ourselves, or we do try to be too over the top, and end up obsessing over every meal and ingredient. Or worse, we punish ourselves with exercise because we ate too many "calories" or had a cheat meal. Of course I'm going to advocate for consuming the most wholesome, high quality meals as you possibly can, but this gal has to have a bit of chocolate every now and then or a vegan cookie. Or, heaven forbid, a little bit of oil in her homemade meal (there are some groups I'm a part of who would kick you out if you even mention that as they advocate a 100% oil-free diet). And I'm happy to share so you all know I struggle with finding the right balance in my own dietary choices, sometimes, too! And I reserve the right to change my mind as I continue to research and learn, and actually live. All the research in the world won't make a difference if you can't put it into practice daily.

I don't know quite why I went off on that tangent, but the main note I'd like to end on for this little blog is be kind to yourself this season. Enjoy some good food that makes you feel GOOD. Let go of the idea of perfection and perhaps you'll get that much closer to your goals without the stress of trying so hard. I know the vegan pumpkin cheesecake I'm making for Thanksgiving is going to be completely scrumptious. And it will taste delicious after the kale salad that will no doubt be part of the meal, as well.

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://plantstoplanks.com/roasted-cauliflower-bowl-with-hempe-jobs-tears-vegan-soy-free/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency