Backyard Foraging: Lion's Mane Mushrooms {A Gem for the Plate & the Body)


If you told me 10 years ago I'd be excited to write a blog post about mushrooms, I would have laughed in your face. I've mentioned before I was a picky eater growing up. Mushrooms were definitely on the "no" list, along with a whole host of other vegetables. I think like many items, if you have a slimy mushroom that is not well-cooked, you're not likely to give them a second try. Luckily at some point I opened my palate again. First to big meaty portabellas, then once I realized those could be quite delicious when prepared well, I allowed others on my plate.

Recently at my wonderful farmers market, I've been introduced to a whole host of mushrooms that you would rarely find at the big box grocery stores. Of course, you can't beat any food item freshly foraged or picked. I've fallen in love with golden oyster mushrooms, and really oyster mushrooms in general I quite enjoy. A year or so ago I tried Lion's Mane (Hericium erinaceus) for the first time when I saw one of my vendors had it. The fuzzy little puffball looked too fun not to try!

I don't think I cooked it very well the first time around, so I wasn't keen on giving it another try too quickly. They contain a lot of moisture and I believe I overcrowded my pan, resulting in a mushy outcome. Lately I thought about giving them a go again, but I've had to send the boyfriend to the market the last few weeks while I was working and didn't think to put it on his list. However, after getting home this past weekend from work on Saturday morning, he told me he spotted a few mushrooms growing on the fallen tree he cut up and moved to the back of the yard. When I walked back to check them out I was pleasantly surprised to see what we had!

A beautiful specimen growing right on top of the log! I was pretty sure right away what it was, and further investigation assured me my identification of our very own Lion's Mane mushroom was correct. Though many mushrooms look alike so that you have to carefully identify edible from not, this variety has nothing else that resembles the tell-tale "icicle" or "fur" growing down the sides. I am by no means a mushroom expert, so always make sure to properly identify your finds before even thinking about harvesting and eating them!

We harvested the big fella from the top, but there are a few more growing around the bottom that will hopefully get large enough to enjoy, as well. I was so excited I shared pictures on my social media right away and had a whole host of people comment on our find, further laying to rest any question at what great luck we had in our backyard foraging adventure.

Once we brought it inside I weighed it and gave it a light brushing off to clean off any debris from the tree log. This beauty weighed in at just under a pound! I decided to cook some that night to be able to enjoy it while totally fresh and newly plucked, but it was big enough to save some for the next day. I just kept the portion that I didn't cook in a paper bag in the refrigerator overnight.

I also knew I wanted to do a better job at cooking them this time around, so I opted to keep my preparation simple and give my shrooms plenty of space in the pan to sweat out some of the moisture and form a wonderful golden crust. I sliced the mushroom into "steaks" before cooking, then added to a hot, dry pan. I cooked the slices for about 5 minutes on the first side, then carefully flipped them over the the other side to brown both evenly. Since it was a Saturday, I also opted for a little treat and added some vegan butter to the pan once some of the moisture was released and I had the start to my crust going.

I also added freshly minced garlic and some fennel fronds to the pan when the mushrooms were just about done. Wow did they come out fantastic! So much better than my first attempt. They were nice and chewy, almost sweet in flavor but still hit that savory note with the fresh garlic. I also gave them a last squeeze of lemon before serving to brighten everything up. Some people say they have a slight flavor of lobster or crab, so they get used sometimes in crab-less cakes.

They made for a delicious Saturday evening meal with green beans and edamame with crushed red pepper and roasted Japanese sweet potatoes and fennel. Who needs restaurants when you can eat like this at home?

Besides feeling like such a fun treat to eat, H. erinaceous is one of the mushrooms that has been used in Chinese medicine for a very long time for its nootropic properties. Recently, many of these functional mushrooms are being studied even more for their possible neurological and nerve regenerating benefits (source). There is some evidence that consuming either fresh Lion's Mane or in supplement form can help with general age-related cognitive decline, but also with diseases like Alzheimer's or Parkinson's. There is also possible benefit for those dealing with depression and anxiety. The article I linked above really is fascinating, so anyone wanting to learn more I highly suggest giving it a look.

In addition to the mental benefits, the antioxidants, fiber and other components in the mushrooms also can be linked in some research to improved insulin response, reduction in cholesterol and cancer prevention. Of course much research still needs to be done, but the benefits seem to far outweigh any risks, especially when consuming moderate amounts of the mushrooms in your daily diet.

While there are many supplements out there which also seem to be beneficial for those who can't stomach eating the fuzzy little fungi, be wary of where you source your supplements. Especially here in the United States, there is really very little oversight into that industry so you don't always know what you are buying is what the label says it is. One of my wonderful mushroom ladies at the market makes her own tinctures, so I'd be more inclined to buy from her if I wanted a more potent "dosage" myself. Definitely consult your physician if you are currently taking any medications before adding any supplement to your daily health routine.

Generally, though, focusing on including whole mushrooms to your weekly menu should be enough to reap the benefits. There are so many "superfoods" that companies try to make money off of when really any nutrient-dense whole food can be super. And if you are like I used to be and have a fungi phobia, I implore you to give them a second chance! I promise, they'll grow on you. 😜

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart




Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://plantstoplanks.com/backyard-foraging-lions-mane-mushrooms-a-gem-for-the-plate-the-body/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency