Monday, April 19, 2021: Remember Waco, and Happy Birthday to Me

Sorry about the late post for the weekend. It was busy and I was tired and had other things to work on.

Today I went to bed early and got up super early around 330pm. Usually I get up around 8 or so on Mondays. Melissa is doing a resale event and had to go help, so I stayed home with the kiddos. And with the piggos.

IMG_20210419_153727178.jpg
Ohai, piggies!

Just like when I first got chickens, I'm loving just sitting with the pigs and watching them do pig things. These two boys have managed to fluff up a ton of the soil in their pen here with their rooting. They prefer the foraging to their feed, which they still hadn't touched for the day when I came in to put the kids to bed.

IMG_20210419_153725631.jpg
How do you say pig in Spanish?

Just sitting around in the pen is getting the pigs a lot more comfortable with me. I got in a few Pat's, and I think I'm finding out that they're much more tolerant of Pat's and scratches on the back half than on the front half. I did get a good feel of a piggie tooth when I went for ear scratches, I guess we're not there yet.

IMG_20210419_190400621.jpg
What's the word for pig in your language? Or whatever language, really.

I'm still pretty intimidated by these little guys, but spending time with them makes me more comfortable. I'm still scared they're going to get out, so I keep digging things in a little deeper. I buried the back hog panel a little deeper today, and will probably do so again til it's halfway buried. My paranoia is healthy though I think; this is high stakes pig raising since I'm in a neighborhood in town. Not a lot of room for error.

IMG_20210419_152821320.jpg
That hole used to be about the size of a tax assessor, now they've filled it in pretty good in just a couple days...

That's all there really is today, cause that's all I really did today. Sit and get to know the pigs. Yeah, there's stuff to do, but I took the day off to be in here. We'll plant seedlings Tuesday morning when I get home from work...

Here's a link to a short video clip of the uproar from the rest of the pig herd after we put the boys in the truck. The mamas all rushed the corral as we were leaving. We left really fast because we didn't want to be supper, they were really mad.

https://lbry.tv/@foxfire_actual#1/pastured-pigs#0

That was the only video I got. I'll get a few more of the boys later, and maybe finally that video tour of the food forest that @bobydimitrov has been wanting for years...

Love from Texas

Nate 💚

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency