From the farm to the city, bye-bye fresh food

From the farm to the city, bye-bye fresh food

byebye fresh food.png

*Photo of my property edited in powerpoint

As a child I had the privilege of eating very fresh food, I grew up in the countryside in the interior of the country. My dad had a farm, he was a farmer and every day he would go out to work the land and come home with fresh fruits and vegetables.

The animal protein we consumed was also fresh, he had his own chicken and pigs, and to have red meat or cheeses, he exchanged inputs with other neighboring farmers. Although I must say that we were not a wealthy family, we always had plenty of food and best of all: always fresh.

After finishing high school I came to study at the University in the Capital, in the town where I lived there was no opportunity to study and I wanted to become a professional. When I arrived in Caracas (capital city of Venezuela), all those eating habits changed.

Unfortunately I no longer had the same access to fresh food, although my father and brothers made the effort to bring me to the city some supplies on more than one occasion, and I do not know how to explain, but I felt a big difference with respect to the vegetables and fruits that I bought in the market.

The truth is, I began to consume many processed foods that I did not have access to before, and it was not until the first signs of diabetes appeared that I took my eating habits into account again.

Another important event that drastically marked our diet was the appearance of an atopic dermatitis in my little daughter, since she was 2 years old she began to have an intolerance to foods that produced rosettes and dry skin, and a strong rhinitis.

The doctors advised us to be strict with her diet, so we began to eliminate many things from her diet so that she would not be tempted to try them. We eliminated soft drinks and candy, wheat flour, sausages and canned foods and anything else that had chemicals or preservatives that were detrimental to her health.

I also went back to my origins in the kitchen, everything was made with natural products, no chemicals, commercially prepared sauces or additional additives. In addition, because of my husband's hypertension, we also reduced salt consumption.

Mireyaacelgas.png

* Sauteed chicken with vegetables and chard

These circumstances led us to look for ways to maintain a healthier diet, based mainly on vegetables, fruits and white meats. I learned to make many natural desserts to spoil the girls.

During the week we consume soups of all kinds at least 4 times a week, I love eggplants, chard and spinach. With the eggplants I prepare a dip that I use as a substitute for butter, I will share the recipe with you soon.

I have never been a friend of diets to lose weight, although two of my daughters have tried to drag me into their diet plans, only once I tried to do a diet based on the consumption of liquids and green vegetables for a week and although I did great with the result, then came those rebound effects and after that I did not return to do more diets for that purpose.

With all this, I can tell you that in my house we have maintained a healthy diet, although the carbohydrate has always been our Achilles heel, as good Venezuelans, never missing an "arepa" on the table and although we try not to consume in excess, it has been a difficult habit to eradicate at least at breakfast.

Based on this, my pyramid could look like this (I had never made a representation of my diet before, but this one is pretty close):

Pirámide alimentaria.png

* Image designed in powerpoint

Every day I drink 8-10 glasses of water to take care of my hydration, and one week a month I drink Detox juices to promote the elimination of toxins from my body.

Additionally, my husband and I take a lot of vitamins, in particular: Vitamin C and D, as well as Omega 3, zinc, folic acid and magnesium.

Thank you for joining me in reading and for your support.


This is my entry for the "Write about YOUR Approach to Healthy Eating" Contest, if you want to know more information about the rules check this link.


separador arriba.png

  • Translated with DeepL.
  • Banners and photo editing elaborated in Powerpoint.
  • All photos in the publication are my exclusive property.

separadorabajo.png

bannerfoodie.png

Banner by jasonbu

naturalmedicine.png

De parte de Mariana (5).png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency