Loving And Living By Principles (Of Yoga)

_1080010_bnw 2.jpg

There's much talk about love especially at this time of the year, which is great, because if more love was expressed and shared, we could have less problems in the world today.

One of the most special kinds of love is the ability to love ourselves, not just physically, but having complete acceptance and appreciation of who we are as individuals in the universe.

A lot of my time is allotted for being in nature and the outdoors, because I recognise and understand the benefits and importance of being in nature and green spaces. Having the sea to my advantage (some days it's just me), I absorb it all.

One of the most ideal ways for expressing self love is my practice of yoga. I like to do it anywhere and anytime.

'Sun, sand and sea, while I actively meditate and reflect on special people, I introspect and I smile.'


Principles & Characteristics

I practice some great principles, in relation to love and other aspects of my life. These principles or characteristics of yoga are known as the Yama's.
Yama refers to morality and the outward representation of ourselves.


These principles are

  • non-harming,
  • non-stealing,
  • non-hoarding,
  • controlling of the senses,
  • and truthfulness.

All of which I believe are great principles to adapt not just for yoga but especially for love, relationships and a fulfilling life in general.

1. Non-Harming (Ahimsa)

While this principle focuses on not harming animals or any living being, I particularly look at it relation to love, by practicing an attitude of kindness and compassion towards the ones I love.

Human nature is complex but I believe if we apply empathy, we would treat people the way we'd like to be treated, which would include non-harming of the ones we love. Celebrate love and express it in a pleasant and caring way. Non-harming is not confined to physical nature, but also on the emotional side, by being considerate of others feelings.

2. Non-Stealing (Asteya)

In terms of love and relationships, non-stealing looks at more than physical possessions such as money, property, or other assets. It covers areas such as attention and respecting others time and space, and also giving attention when necessary instead of being overly needy and demanding or having an unbalanced expectation of your personal needs of fulfilment.

3. Non-Hoarding

it is so easy to fall into this negative habit in our personal lives, can you imagine how it could affect love and relationships in a negative way?

Aparigraha!
I think this word every time I go to my favourite Charity Shops, Clothing Stores, when I receive those tempting eBay, Amazon and more recent Facebook Ads.
DO I NEED IT?
I've strengthened my ability to admire and adore things, yet focus on the appreciation someone in need could have of it instead.

In terms of non-hoarding with relationships, I think it's more important to live, explore and experience events, places and create memories together.
Having less material possession offers mental clarity and allows us to focus with better intent on the ones who are valuable to us and allows us to do the things that both make us happy together.

_1080050_bnw1 2.jpg

4. Control Of the Senses (Brahmacharya)

Love and trust go hand-in-hand and overtime, this principle has become natural for me. This principle strongly focuses on the sexual responsibilities we have as humans, which require us to control our bodies in a responsible manner. In other words, as we celebrate love, self love or even Valentine's Day, it's crucial for us to have self respect and respect for the special ones in our lives by controlling ourselves in appropriate sexual manners.

5. Truthfulness (Satya)

I always say, no matter how bad the truth is, tell me. It's up to me to decide how I will deal with it. Discovering a lie, is up to you to decide how you'll cope and deal with my reaction to the discovery.
Lying is often times unnecessary and in truly living the other principle of non-harming, it's important that there's honesty in relationships.
Honesty in saying what is true, and also being respectful and considerate in the way we communicate with each other.


In Summary

I'm not fanning a self righteous banner, as we all have our demons šŸ˜¶
[sips coffee] ā˜•ļøšŸ˜…, but these are
great principles to adopt and celebrate everyday, not just one day - Valentine's Day.

To be honest, I don't care for roses in a bouquet or a vase, as I'm just not an overly chummy rose[mantic] type. I do however like to see roses growing and occasionally I might pick a flower to adorn my hair, but for quality time together I'd rather cozy up to a warm cup of coffee or a glass of red wine and have positive conversations, while giving and reciprocating the feelings possible when all these principles are applied.šŸŒ¹


PS. I'll share this beautiful song "Love Means Never To Say That I'm Sorry" - which of course doesn't mean that you're not to apologise if you're wrong, but the words imply application of all these principles above.

Listen - Ponder - Enjoy!
ā¤ļø

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency