LEMONGRASS GOODNESS (In The Philippines)

_B280502_edited_edited.jpg

On a hot sunny day, I like to kill two birds with one stone: I top up my Vitamin D (while protecting my skin) and I always spend a little extra time checking on the herbs in my garden.
One of my fav is the lemongrass. Lemongrass contains substances that can offer pain relief from swelling, reduces fever and helps to overcome common cold and flu. It improves levels of sugar and cholesterol in the blood, and for ladies, it stimulates the uterus and menstrual flow, and helps to reduce menstrual pain.
_B280504_edited_edited 2.jpg
SOME OTHER USES OF LEMONGRASS

NATURAL REMEDIES: Great for planting in gardens close to windows to repel mosquitoes and unwanted insects (an abundance of both here in the fillies) and most tropical places. You have the option of making a natural oil with the lemongrass instead of using artificial or harmful things such as deet. I HATE mosquitoes, yet I'm always indecisive about whether I hate the buzzing sound of a mosquito at my ear, or the bite itself. We always say in Jamaica "if you think you are too small to make an impact, just remember a mosquito. How can something so small cause such distress?

SELF-CARE: Lemongrass is great as a natural hair rinse for washing away excess oil and regulating oily glands, while also acting as a hair protection strengthener - something any hair texture can benefit from especially if your hair is exposed to harsh conditions such as sea, sun or hair colouring. It also gives the hair a fresh clean scent.

I like to make a light mixture of lemongrass water (boiled then cooled) to use on my face as a natural toner. It's effective for reducing oiliness especially around my t-zone area..

FOODIES: Lemongrass is a recipe enhancer that goes well with curries and Asian inspired dishes. I like to stuff it up the backside of my roost chicken adding some garlic and lemon. It's also a great substitute for people who don't like ginger because it's milder. If you would like something tasty and easy, just add some fresh lemongrass to a water pitcher and fill it with slices of cucumber, oranges, apples or any fruit you fancy...a nice way to relax,chill and detox.
P4160590.jpg

I really never considered myself having a green thumb, but here in the Philippines, especially in my rural province, you have to do whatever you can to be as self sustainable as you can...even now more than ever!! Here are some other herbs that I plant in pots. They look beautiful on my balcony, but they thrive better when I move them to another location away from the sea.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency