Winging my garden

It's been a while since I did a garden journal, I got a bit side tracked recently and haven't planted anything in my garden, lame excuse I know. Truth to be told, I find gardening very rewarding when you harvest, but it's also very high maintenance. I'm still trying to find some low maintenance things to grow that are perfect for lazy people like me, but I guess nothing is low effort high reward in this world.

So far my best find is spring onions. And yes, I bet someone in another part of the world will get all confused because they call it something else. Just as no one knew what I was on about last year when I said I had planted courgettes. Anyway, I've planted these for a while and haven't really done anything with them. They've grown really tall, so tall that the wind has got to some of them.
DSC_4585.JPG

This is one of the smaller and prettier ones that I harvest today.


I bought a massive bag of potatoes recently as they're dirt cheap in UK. I heard they're quite expensive in Australia, so we're very lucky here and I think not many people bother to grow them. When I was a kid, we used to grow potatoes at school as they're so easy to grow. You just cut off a bit of the potato that has shoots and plonk it in the soil. In my typical wing it fashion, that's what I did recently when I couldn't finish off all my potatoes on time. I planted seven of them, two have died as I forgot to water them 😅 but the others have flourished quite well.
DSC_4583.JPG

Although the leaves are very green, and in my non expert opinion, most look quite healthy, some are a bit dry. I have a feeling they may need a bit more water. I'd better look up how to grow potatoes tomorrow and not continue to wing it.
DSC_4584.JPG


Tomato is something that I know a little about and don't need to wing as I grew them last year. Last month my sister gave me four plants, they were quite small then and stood spaciously in the black bucket. During the month, I planted them in individual buckets and they've grown double in height and have a lot more new leaves. That's a good sign, they haven't died on me (yet)!! The slugs don't seem to like them, that's another good sign. There was one tomato on the plant on the right when my sister gave them to me. That hasn't grown or ripened during the month, nor has it started to die. Hopefully if I do get any tomatoes, they will be healthier. We shall see. There are quite a lot of buds.

DSC_4582.JPG


Last and not the least, the bok choi. After two unsuccessful attempts where my lovely bok choi got gobbled up by 'don't know what' - I still haven't figured out the culprit yet, I have planted more seedlings. These are 16 days old. I think next week I will replant them but I have to figure out how to keep the pests away from them. Someone suggested hanging them up from the ground during my last garden journal, I just need to make sure my fence is strong enough for that, if not I'll have to wing it again.
DSC_4590.JPG

Let's see if I make any progress with my garden next month. See ya!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency