My personal experience with mental health

The way I feel, think and act is due to my mental well-being.


IMG_20201019_012257.jpg

Having mental health for me has been a whole battle with a dark side of me, with a deep sadness that is not completely gone but I am not letting it defeat me.

In the past it was much worse, I would spend long periods without leaving home and without talking to anyone and I clearly remember that I wanted to stop being afraid at one point and took the courage to make an appointment with a psychologist, on the day of the appointment when I arrived at the office they told me that the psychologist was not going to be able to come and it was very sad for me and I thought that maybe I should not open up, I was only giving that one opportunity and it did not happen, at present I am still unable to attend one but I am considering in a very serious way to make an appointment, I think it's okay, I'm another person, that is, my thoughts about it are different.

I still have days where I am sad but I can assure you that it is not like in the past, this sadness has meaning, the previous ones did not have one, it was as if I just wanted to be sad all day, I just wanted to eat and see something, to lie down .

I do have to say that I did searches on the internet to find out what this was and I wanted to read other people's experiences and because of this I set personal goals that I was fulfilling.

  • I began to allow people to approach me, let them talk to me and began to respond with the same kindness.

In the past I was not interested and when people spoke to me I just said: ah okay! So that they will stop talking to me.

  • I started going out with friends, to eat, movies, bowling, the odd party, I'm not a party person but I agreed to some because I really wanted to change and improve, so I tried to try new things to see if it was going to give any results.

As a result of this I realized that friends also help you heal your soul and more if they are always supporting you or letting you know that they support you.

  • I started to change I started to finally say good things about myself because I thought I was horrible and I had no self-esteem and I was gaining confidence in myself

One of the things that helped me with this were self-help books and there were phrases like: What you say or think about yourself is what people will perceive about you. If you say you are horrible, people will start to see you as a horrible person ... And thanks to these little things I started to build positive and pleasant thoughts about myself. And the phrase is totally true, people perceive you for what you say about yourself.

  • My mom, improve the relationship with her. Suddenly I began to tell her everything that happened in my life and that made me happy and feel strong

  • Going out to hike and that stayed with me is one of the activities that I do regularly, being in a natural environment makes me feel peaceful and positive, my thoughts and my vibes change completely and make me feel that this is the real me and that's where i belong

  • Doing a bit extreme activities. Climbing, Zip line, hanging over suspension bridges, are some other things I'm not remembering.

Setting personal goals was the first step to change my way of thinking and get out of the constant zone of sadness in which I was, currently there are days when I feel sad but for specific situations in which I find myself living.

And well this was a bit of my experience and the things that I have been able to do to improve.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency