Spring Foraging Nettles and Cleavers and What To Do With Them


image.png

Spring has finally arrived in the UK, at least for a few days until the inevitable array of low-hanging clouds come back. So I thought I would make the most of the good weather to enjoy a pleasant foraging walk. One of my favorite things to forage has to be stinging nettle.

Nettle is such an underrated plant. Many people see them as weeds, but they are so much more than that.

They are perennial herbs that can grow almost anywhere and are considered to be a pioneer plant that prepares the soil for the evolution of future plants and trees.

They are also little nutrient powerhouses and have a number of health benefits. Most commonly known as a diuretic, they have been studied for their use in treating urinary tract infections and promoting kidney health. They can help reduce symptoms of hayfever and inflammation. Studies have also been conducted into the use of nettles in lowering blood pressure and blood sugar levels in people with diabetes. Although the results were a little inconclusive.

Nettles are nutrient-dense and packed with vitamin C, k, A, and several B vitamins. Their mineral content boasts calcium, phosphorous, magnesium, iron, and potassium. A perfect combination for a plant-based diet, especially with their antioxidant properties.


image.png

I like to combine this with cleavers which is also a diuretic. Cleavers, or goosegrass, is also great for helping with skin conditions such as eczema and itchy skin conditions. It also contains diuretic properties to help with kidney function and has been used as a slimming aid. As you can see in the image below, nature also likes to combine the two plants. Here they are growing side by side.
image.png

One of my favorite and most simple ways to enjoy the benefits of nettles is to drink it as a tea. It is really simple to prepare and you don't need much. Simply take a sprig of fresh spring growth from the nettle and about half a handful of cleavers. Steep in freshly boiled water for about 15 minutes. It is ready to drink when the water is a pale green color. it has a slightly bitter taste so you may want to add either agave syrup or your preferred choice of sweetener.
image.png

I am always looking for new ways to incorporate nettles into my diet. A few years ago, I bought the book, Gaia's Feasts which is a recipe book from the Schumacher Foundation showcasing a collection of their recipes.
One recipe I really like that makes the most out of the abundance of Spring goodness is a pate. I make it a little different from the recipe and below is my adaptation of it.

The original recipe calls for wild garlic. When I lived in Sark it was easier to find a slightly different variety, known as three-cornered leek or Allium Triquetrum. I never imagined I would find it growing where I live now. I was overflowing with joy when my neighbor told me that it grows in abundance in the alley behind her house. Another foraging win.


image.png


image.png

The recipe also contains sunflower seeds roasted in either soy sauce or tamari for a gluten-free diet. They are simple to cook and make a great snack.

image.png

Which is why I always cook more than required for the recipe.

image.png

Another key ingredient is silken tofu, although the original also offers hard-boiled egg as the vegetarian alternative. This is the first time I have used Silken Tofu in this recipe and I must say I was pleasantly surprised.


image.png

To prepare, add about 1 tablespoon of Olive oil to a skillet and warm to a medium heat. Rough chop the nettles, cleavers and leeks. Add the nettles and cleavers to the pan, but set aside the leeks until a little later.


image.png


image.png

Add the leeks once the nettles have wilted in the pan, and cook them until soft. Remove from the heat and set aside.

image.png

By now, the sunflower seeds should be done. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

image.png

Add the contents of the skillet to a blender and pulse until roughly blended. Add a couple of tablespoons of the sunflower seeds and the tofu and blend until smooth.
While blending add in salt, pepper, a little lemon juice, and olive oil to season and help with the blending process. Once smooth, transfer to a serving dish, sprinkle some more (or a lot if you are like me) sunflower seeds on top and garnish with the flower heads of the leek.

image.png

The recipe is here below, I made a batch that has fed 4 people as a snack but this is only a rough guide as I didn't measure anything out and followed my intuition. So I am leaving out the measurements. I hope my pictures will give you a guide to the proportions.

Ingredients

  • Stinging Nettles, tops of spring ones (for older nettles use only the leaves, no stalks)
  • Cleavers
  • Three-Cornered Leek
  • Firm Silken Tofu, I cut off a piece about the size of 1 large egg, as a guide.
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Tamari or Soy sauce
  • Olive Oil
  • Lemon Juice
  • Salt and Black Pepper to taste

N.B: The sunflower seeds take about ten minutes to roast in the center of the oven at 180c or 350f, gas mark 4.

Foraging Fun

It felt so good to get out and find nutrient-dense food springing up everywhere. The warmth of the sun encouraging the Vitamin D to emerge from its winter depths inside my body. The sea air and the joy of these precious finds are medicine for both my physical and mental health.

What do you like to forage? Have you tried any of the ingredients in this post? I'd love to know, drop me a message in the comments or write a post and tag me @holisticmom.

~One Love~



holisticmom.jpg

***


CommunityIIDiscord

***

abundance-tribe2.gif

***

ecoTrain_logo_main.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency