Diary of a Wannabe Vegan

DIARY of A.png

Hello Hive!

This is my first time writing in this community. It has been more than two weeks in my attempt of eating more plant-based meals. I don't know how long this will last but I will keep cooking and trying.

I used to be a vegetarian

I was a strict Lacto-vegetarian, sometimes vegan for seven years when I was in my 20s. "You are what you eat" was a line I heard many times while researching a college thesis. The interviews that I have conducted in designing a wellness center two decades ago led to many years of being a vegetarian. It was also a necessary change back then when my family joined a meditation group.

My Mom decided to take the vegetarian route in the late 90s and made it mandatory at home. Meat, seafood, and eggs were suddenly banned and forbidden. Cans of corned beef were hidden inside closets and were used for blackmail between siblings Lol

As for me, I was the one ratting out who kept a can of meatloaf haha just kidding.

My Mom practiced vegetarianism religiously for more than 22 years with the last 2 years being a vegan.

Advantages and Disadvantages

I didn't know much about the morality and environmental impacts of animal farming back then but the idea of eating plant-based meals felt right for me at the time.

I brought home-cooked vegetarian meals to work or snacks to nibble on anywhere, so it was not a problem when my friends teased me about eating grass at parties when there was nothing that I could eat.

The physical and emotional changes that I noticed back then were the following:

  • My skin cleared up.
  • I felt lighter and energetic despite being overworked and hyper-stressed.
  • Naturally soft-spoken, I was even calmer. I rarely got angry which became a problem because I needed to use intimidation in my old job to get things done. It was a dog eat dog environment hence, I resorted to acting lol
  • An inexplicable sense of clarity
  • Deeper focus during meditation practice
  • I rarely got sick.

By my late 20s, I gave up the vegetarian lifestyle not long after I got married. How, you might ask? One day, I ordered a Whopper out on a whim and that was it.

I suppose I got tired of preparing two different meals daily and I was also curious to try all of the exotic dishes we encountered while traveling since the best way to understand a foreign culture is through food.

How I lasted seven years before that was a self-motivated decision. So the question is-- how committed am I to do this now and why?

After watching documentaries about animal conditions and their environmental impact, I found myself cooking more vegetables and eating more fruits. I started missing my old vegetarian lifestyle and I am curious to try it again.

Time will tell. I am in it for health reasons. I have embraced Keto and Dukan diet for more than a decade throughout my 30s. Now that I am in my 40s diagnosed with high cholesterol levels, I am committed to giving it a shot.

The Challenges

During the first week, I have been preparing separate meals. My 7 yo daughter who is fond of meat and aversive to vegetables wasn't thrilled by this change. My husband on the other hand seemed to be on board for as long as I creatively replicate the meat dishes that he loves. Hmmm...

The hardest would probably be giving up cheese. Since I am in the Philippines and specialty cheeses are expensive, it works out in my favor.

A Part-Time Vegetarian

A recent chat with a friend who is a part-time vegetarian expanded my views on another possibility. They cook plant-based meals, almost vegan at home and when they're invited to dinners and parties, they eat whatever is served.

It is a brilliant solution to the challenge-- the discomfort and strain of offending friends and relatives. It relieves any stress from the host and it takes the pressure off as well from any unforeseen situation. I might try this for a while.

I am not against meat consumption and I don't regret the years I spent doing so. There's no cookie-cutter approach to food and lifestyle choices. To each his own and always at one's own pace.

I, however, would like to eat more plant-based meals. Everything they say is good in moderation.

Going back to that Whopper, I was flabbergasted to find a Plant-based Whopper in Burger King yesterday.

Thank you for reading. In case you've been on this vegetarian journey, care to share any advice with someone transitioning in this lifestyle?

What were your biggest challenges? How did you manage to do it? What were the advantages and disadvantages? Ultimately, why did you decide to choose vegetarianism or veganism?


Discovering Arni.jpg

"I am an old soul who simply loves coffee, who finds joy and beauty in both tangible and the unseen."

@discoveringarni

Curiosity and imagination lead to unexpected experiences. Interested in Nature, Places, Roads Less Traveled, Minimalism, Authentic Living, Anything French, and International Cuisine. Feel free to follow her, re-blog, and upvote if you enjoy her content.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency