"Encurtido" Veggie mix cooked with vinegar and salt (ENG/ES) Mix Veggie cocido con vinagre y sal

Hello, estimated members of Natural Medicine! I hope you had a wonderful weekend. Mine was ok, a bit cold over here but I had plenty of time to relax, to get my house tidy and clean, and to read and do the things I like the most. Working so much, sometimes it happens that I buy a lot of vegetables and then I don’t have the time to cook so much during the working days. I don’t like it when some of the vegetables I buy get bad, and then I have to throw them away, so today that I have a little extra time, I decided to make something my mother taught me to make, an “Encurtido”, a way to call mixed vegetables when they are cooked using salt and vinegar, similar to the way people make pickles out of the cucumbers vegetable.

Hola estimados miembros de Natural Medicine! Espero que hayan tenido un fin de semana increíble. El mío estuvo bien, un poco de frío por aquí pero tuve mucho tiempo para relajarme, para limpiar y ordenar un poco mi casa, y para leer y hacer las cosas que me gusta hacer más. Trabajando mucho, pasa a veces que compro muchos vegetales y luego no tengo mucho tiempo para cocinar durante los días de trabajo. No me gusta cuando algunos de los vegetales que compro se dañan, y luego los tengo que tirar, así que hoy que tengo tiempo libre, decidí hacer algo que mi madre me enseñó a hacer, un encurtido, parecido a la forma en la que hacen pepinillos.

1621196775801.jpg

I took all the vegetables I had in my fridge that were getting a little bit out of time, and after washing them properly, I started to process the chilli peppers first, cutting them up and down, and them in half, removing all the seeds, and then chopping them into little pieces.

Tomé todos los vegetales que tenía en la conservadora que se estaban pasando un poco de tiempo, y después de lavarlos propiamente, empecé a procesar los ajíes primero, cortándolos arriba y abajo, luego a la mitad, removiendo las semillas, y cortándolos en pequeños trozos.

P1060315.JPG

P1060316.JPG

P1060317.JPG

P1060319.JPG

After that, I peeled and grated the eggplants and the carrot, and put them in the same pot I previously put the chilli peppers. I chopped some red pepper I had here, and some chives.

Después, pelé y rallé las berenjenas y la zanahoria, y las puse en la misma olla en donde antes había puesto los ajíes. Corté un pedazo de pimentón rojo que tenía, y un poco de cebollín.

P1060320.JPG

P1060324.JPG

P1060325.JPG

P1060329.JPG

P1060335.JPG

All in the pot, I added ⅓ tablespoon of salt, ¼ cup of white vinegar, a tablespoon of olive oil, and a glass or cup of water. In this step, you can also add some aromatic herbs and seasoning. I added garlic, parsley, black pepper, some basil and rosemary. I mixed everything with a wooden spoon, and then waited some 4-5 hours.

Una vez puse todo en la olla, le añadí ⅓ de sal, ¼ de taza de vinagre blanco, una cucharada de aceite de oliva, y una taza o vaso de agua. En este paso, pueden añadir hierbas aromáticas, y condimentos, yo añadí ajo, perejil, pimienta negra, albahaca, y romero. Mezclé todo con una cuchara de palo, y esperé unas 4-5 horas.

P1060337.JPG

P1060338.JPG

P1060339.JPG

P1060347.JPG

P1060351.JPG

After that, I turned on the stove to minimum heat and let it cook for some minutes, lets say between 15-20. Then, I turned off the stove, and let it get to room temperature.

Después de eso, encendí la cocina a fuego mínimo y lo cociné por unos minutos, entre 15 y 20 minutos. Entonces, apagué la hornilla, y lo dejé llegar a temperatura ambiente.

When it is not hot anymore, I took two recycled jam jars I had over here, and put some more olive oil, and the juice of half lemon I squeezed, and put the vegetables mix inside of both jars.

Cuando no estaba caliente, tomé dos recipientes de mermelada reciclados que tenía, y le puse aceite de oliva, y el jugo de mitad de un limón que exprimí, y puse los vegetales cocidos dentro.

P1060353.JPG

P1060355.JPG

P1060358.JPG

P1060359.JPG

P1060360.JPG

In my family, we use to keep this vegetable mix in the fridge, for something like 20-30 days, and then the flavor is really good and you can put it on top of a toast, or a tortilla, or on a sandwich, bruschetta, or as the salad to a bigger meal. In Italy, people are accustomed to eating some appetizers before the strong dish, and they usually eat bread with this type of pickles and vegetables cooked with salt and vinegar through fermentation.

En mi familia, solemos mantener este mix en la nevera, por algo como 20 o 30 días, y luego el sabor es muy rico, y pueden ponerlo sobre una tostada, una tortilla, o en un sándwich, o bruschetta, o como ensalada de una comida. En Italia están acostumbrados a comer aperitivos antes del plato principal, y usualmente comen pan con este tipo de vegetales o pepinillos, cocidos con vinagre y sal fermentados.

I couldn't resist tasting it, so even though I am going to store it for later to gain more flavor, I took some tortilla I had here home and filled it with it, and let me tell you it was good. So, do not throw your vegetables, and before they go all bad, make them this easy way and keep them with the vinegar and the salt and the lemon, because the acidic liquid and the salt keep the vegetables clean of bad bacteria.

No pude resistir en probarlo, así que aunque lo voy a guardar para después para que gane sabor, tome una tortilla que tenía acá y la llené con eso, y estaba muy bueno. Así que, no tiren sus vegetales, antes de que se pongan malos, haganlos de esta manera tan fácil y los pueden conservar con vinagre y sal y el limón, ya que el medio ácido y la sal, mantienen los vegetales libres de malas bacterias.

P1060363.JPG

P1060364.JPG

I hope all of you continue to be fine! And talk to you soon :)

Regards.

César.

Espero que todos continúen estando bien, y les hablo pronto :)

Saludos.

César.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency