Chayote corn and lentil salad with tomatillo avocado dressing

I have only use chayote squash a few times in my life and that was mostly in Mexico. Recently I have seen it in the supermarket and asked myself why I pass by this item and not buy it. I like it raw but I know there are many cooked recipes for this . It's great cooked as well and I think quite versatile due to it's mildness.

Untitled-1.jpg

I decided to add this to a salad to experience it's apple/potato like texture. It really is a unique and refreshing thing to put in a salad for a people like me. I live in a place where this is not a common thing to consume. However it is gradually becoming more popular here in Canada.

For the salad I chose simple ingredients and for the dressing I chose a Mexican inspired salad dressing.

Chayote corn and lentil salad

1 chayote squash cubed
2 cups of corn (I used 4 cobs of fresh cooked corn)
2 cups cooked lentils (I used du Puy lentils)
1 grated carrot
1 small red onion chopped

Untitled-2.jpg

Tomatillos are one of the key ingredients in Mexican cooking. They are a nightshade fruit like the tomato and have a acidic flavor like the tomato but they are different. They also have a husk on them which I removed before taking the photos. After the husk is removed they look like little green tomatoes.

Tomatillo avocado Salad dressing

8 to 10 tomatillos
1 or 2 serrano peppers or jalapeno peppers or both
1 onion chopped
4 cloves garlic
1 green onion chopped
Fresh cilantro
1 avocado
Juice of 3 or 4 lime
Salt to taste
1/2 cup olive oil

Untitled-3.jpg

DSC_1407.jpg

Add to blender with avocado, cilantro, lime juice, and olive oil. If you need more liquid you can add more lime juice, oil or even water. Adjust the salt afterwards.

DSC_1437.jpg

Coat the salad in the dressing and mix thoroughly.

The sweetness of the corn and the tangy dressing balance each other out.

3.jpg

3-1.jpg

I think that in this case some tortillas would have worked well but I chose to toast some multigrain bread that I had in the fridge.

3-2.jpg

Without the bread it made a perfectly satisfying lunch or dinner. The bread was for my other half.

I wish you all peace😌

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency