Trying Not To Be Selfish

Everyone born into this world must have an ego. All of us must have our egos. There is nothing wrong with having an ego, that is precisely what makes us human. But sometimes, if we put forward the ego and can't control it, the ego will overwhelm and make us someone who doesn't care about the things around. An uncontrolled ego can sometimes hurt ourselves, or worse, it can hurt other people too. Without us realizing it, the ego will come out by itself if we can't control it. There will be consequences that will be obtained when we prioritize and obey the ego.

When we can control and understand, the ego is like a fire that can be a friend who will give light when we are in darkness. However, sometimes an unstoppable ego can also be an enemy that will burn us. Burning every detail that we have arranged neatly for a long time and leaving only dust that will be regretted later.

20210829_223726.jpg

Control the ego

As someone who is not a teenager anymore, I have to be more careful in my actions and think more maturely. Leave all the children's thoughts filled with selfishness and start building solid walls to avoid things that will destroy me later. Many things could destroy me from the outside, but they would be easy to detect. However, sometimes something from within that grows from a small thing then becomes something that is out of control, will be more difficult to understand, and will easily destroy me no matter how strong the walls I have built. One of the reasons is when I put my ego first. When we can't control it, it will destroy what we have built from within easily. Controlling the ego is not necessarily controlled just like that. It takes a lot of experience and lessons that can make us understand this selfishness.

Start with small steps

We know that as social beings, the ego is something that cannot be separated from us. What we can do is reduce and restrain the selfish nature that exists within us. Start to reduce selfishness in yourself by starting from small things that we can do. Start with the easy stuff first, for example. Take small steps to be able to take the next step. We can do it for ourselves first and then apply it to others. Without us realizing it, sometimes we are so selfish to ourselves. Take time to understand yourself and understand the selfish nature that is in us. Not too pushy either. You can discipline yourself, but don't push it too much. Don't work too hard. If you're tired, take a break.

Share

Back when I was a teenager, I didn't really like sharing what was mine with others. Keep it to myself without thinking of others who need it more. Thinking about myself without being willing to give something that other people need when I'm not forced to give it. On my sister a close example. I used to hate sharing small things with my sister. When there is more food, then I will take food first and more before my sister takes it for fear that I will not be full if I only take a small portion. But now I try to think of other people first instead of putting my ego first. Just take what's available and give the rest to someone who needs it more. That way people who need it more or who haven't been able to share will be able to feel the same way. When I'm home and it's time to eat, I also try to be the last to pick up the food and let the people at home get the food first. Not only that, when I have extra money that I don't use soon, I also give some of that money to my sister. Only to spend or save. By sharing, then everyone can feel what we feel.

Care

If we can't share, at least we can care about feelings. Not only about our feelings, but we should also care about the feelings of others. We can help people who need help. If we can't give in kind, we can try to help someone in other ways. For example, we can provide support or encouragement to someone that will make them even more excited even though it's not important to most people. Or maybe just listening to a friend who wants to talk when they needs it. If possible, we can provide input on the problem they are experiencing. Caring will teach us to empathize with one another.

Be Patient

There are so many things that will force us to be selfish. Being patient will keep us away from things that will provoke anger. Be patient when we are faced with something that will fuel our ego. Patience will train us to control the ego that will grow in the future.

By trying not to be selfish, our feelings will be calmer from something bad that will slowly eat away at us. If we get used to making selfishness our habit, it will make feelings unhealthy. Make us someone who doesn't seem to care about the things around us. Being selfish sometimes makes me feel guilty towards some people who accept that selfishness. By starting from small things I hope I can become more mature and care more about many things. At the age that is no longer young, I try to be someone who is not selfish in many ways. Because being selfish sometimes will bring bad things in the future. Therefore as much as possible, I try to be someone who is not selfish starting from the small things around me.


Thank you for reading my blog. Have a nice day. Stay safe and stay healthy.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency