What we eat in the jungle? [ENG-ESP]

This post was written in dual language, so you will find a text completely in English, followed by one completely written in Spanish.

Este post fue escrito en doble lenguaje, por lo que encontraras un texto completamente en ingles, seguido de uno completamente escrito en español.


English (1).jpg


noche a la parrilla (1).jpg


One day I was bathing in the river, escaping from the heat of the Amazon, when I turned around and there was a boy nearby, putting leaves in some holes in the trees near the shore. I watched him long enough to realize that he was working, he was hunting. The simple fact seemed surprising to me for many reasons, it was not something new to see for me because after several visits you realize that children in the jungle are mature and often self-sufficient from a young age, but the fact of going to hunt the animal, clean it, cook it and eat it will always be fantastic for me.


image.png


That day at night I told the boy's father that I had seen him hours before hunting monkey spiders, he explained to me at that moment that it was a dangerous activity that should be done with great care because if you grab the spider wrong it will shake and shed its hairs that are irritating to mucous membranes, besides stinging the entire skin. Just at that moment I understood and recognized the adventurous spirit of the wild child, the ease of living seems innate to me, not being afraid of failure or triumph are qualities that we creoles have trouble developing, so the next day while talking to @sv94 I decided to learn from them and enjoy the experience they have of hunting, and among other things, I told maxi that I would learn to hunt and as this became a bet I went straight to find a good teacher.

"La China"


image.png


One of the most impressive Wóttüja girls I have seen in the jungle, she is a talented hunter who surprised me the first time I saw her determined to hunt an iguana that was at the top of a tree near the churuata. That day several children and other adults were watching the iguana while looking for ways to bring it down, throwing stones and some other things, until I saw this girl pass by with a machete in her hand and with her eyes fixed on the iguana she went to climb the tree, Once at the top she began to cut the branch from which the iguana was holding on until it finally fell, at full speed La China got down and began to run after the iguana, she grabbed it by the tail, the iguana's tail fell off but this did not stop her, she grabbed the tail and continued running until with the same tail she gave the iguana a claw that killed it in its tracks.


image.png


A presentation that left me with my heart racing, I was shocked with this scene. I think it's so funny that every time I tell these stories about her I get so excited hahahaha without a doubt she is an amazing girl, that's why when I wanted to learn to observe hunting from the eyes of children, I knew she was going to help me perfectly. I promised her that I would do a post and that I would pay her for her classes so she immediately got down to work (although I confess that even if I had not offered them anything, I know that they would have taught me because that's how they are, they don't keep their knowledge to themselves).

How do you hunt in the jungle?

Tarantula

The first lesson was given in the river, I took a small spider and he taught me the basic movements to hunt the spider with a lot of security. First immobilize it with a stick, then bend its legs to hold it while introducing the stick in the center of its body, specifically under its thorax, then with the help of a leaf from a tree grab its backside and pull it out to extract all the liquid it has. In this case, as the spider was very small, the liquid was used as bait and introduced into the cave so that other larger spiders would be attracted to it.


image.png


Once we were ready and since the first lesson was a success, the Chinese woman began her search for a much larger spider while I went up to the churuata to eat sabarari (Creole) food. An hour later she arrived with a much larger spider and quickly told me to get ready, we went running and she released it, she instructed me to go through the same procedure she had taught me before and this time with the help of all the girls I went back to try to hunt and prepare a Araña Mona (Tarantula) the size of my hand.



My biggest fear was that the spider would shake and leave me with my whole body itching, plus I was with the girls and I did not want anything to happen to them, but I really discovered that there was nothing to fear, if you do not invent and do things carefully nothing happens. Then we went to the fire and they put the spider to toast to burn the hairs and peel it, its flavor is like shrimp, although it opens like a crab, it has little meat, but it is delicious and full of nutrients.


image.png


Worms


image.png


The next day the lesson continued when a man came to the churuata offering the grandfather a considerable amount of caterpillars, I have already made a post that talked about this curious hunt and the benefit it has for both the community and the ecosystem of the jungle.

Wild Edibles Challenge - Worms for dinner?

I always saw their preparation from afar, but I was a little afraid to grab them with my hands because I felt that they would bite me, besides that visually for me, who was not used to eating those things, it made me a little disgusted. Since I went there to learn, I looked for a way to forget about all my judgments and I gladly became La china woman's apprentice again, this time not hunting but preparing lunch for that day. A couple of worms wouldn't kill me, would they?


image.png


The procedure is simple, you grab the worm, nothing happens, you can grab it wherever you want, grandpa showed us how a real man of the jungle does it, but as the girls are condescending with me they taught me a simpler technique that consists of removing the head of the worm and then on the opposite side introduce the stick pushing to turn it over and take out the stomach and the whole stomach of the caterpillar. This is then washed and ready to cook. The most common preparation is to coat them in a corn batter and then dip them in oil until they are fluffy. Its flavor is simple, it is not really amazing, it mixes well with the flavor of the corn so it is a neutral but quite nutritious side dish.


image.png


We all have different cultures, human beings have the ability to adapt to their environment to survive, the typical food is born in this way, the native things we have tell us a story in which our ancestors have taken from the earth its best fruits and have turned them into medicine for the body we inhabit.



This has been all for today, I hope you have enjoyed this beautiful experience that I told you, for me it has been an honor to bring this valuable knowledge that the Wóttüja girls taught me, although it is very little for everything they know, it is a start for everything I will continue to learn there with them. A huge hug full of the best energies, until next time. Adiwa!

PS: All my thanks to Max @sv94 for such nice photos and videos.

baner auelitairene.jpg




English.jpg


noche a la parrilla.jpg


Un día me encontraba bañándome en el rio, escapando un poco del calor de amazonas, cuando me di vuelta y tenia muy cerca a un niño colocando hojas en algunos huecos dentro de los arboles mas cercanos a la orilla. Lo observe por el tiempo necesario como para darme cuenta de que este se encontraba trabajando, estaba cazando. El simple hecho me parecía sorprendente por muchas razones, no era algo nuevo de ver para mi porque ya después de varias visitas te das cuenta de que los niños allá en la selva son maduros y en muchas ocasiones autosuficientes desde pequeños, pero el hecho de ir cazar al animal, limpiarlo, cocinarlo y comerlo siempre será para mi fantástico.


image.png


Ese día en la noche le comente al papa de el niño que lo había visto horas antes cazando arañas monas, el me explico en ese instante que era una actividad peligrosa que se debía realizar con mucho cuidado ya que si a la araña la agarras mal esta se sacudirá y desprenderá sus pelos que son irritantes para las zonas con mucosas, además de picar toda la piel. Justo en ese momento comprendí y reconocí el espíritu aventurero del niño salvaje, la soltura de vivir me parece innata, no tenerle miedo a al fracaso o al triunfo son cualidades que a los criollos nos cuesta desarrollar, por eso al día siguiente mientras hablaba con @sv94 decidí aprender de ellos y disfrutar de la experiencia que tienen de la caza, además que entre otras cosas, le dije a maxi que aprendería a cazar y como esto se convirtió en una apuesta fui directo a buscar una buena profesora.

"La China"


image.png


Una de las niñas Wóttüja más impresionantes que he visto allá en la selva, es una talentosa cazadora que me sorprendió la primera vez que la vi decidida a cazar una iguana que se encontraba en lo mas alto de un árbol cercano a la churuata. Ese día varios niños y otros adultos se encontraban observando la iguana mientras buscaban formas de bajarla, le lanzaban piedras y algunas otras cosas, hasta que vi a esta niña pasar con un machete en la mano y con lo ojos fijos en la iguana fue a trepar el árbol, ya estando arriba comenzó a cortar la rama de la que se sostenía la iguana hasta que esta por fin cayo, a toda velocidad la china se bajo y comenzó a correr tras la iguana, la tomo de la cola, a la iguana se le solo la cola pero esto no la detuvo, tomo la cola y siguió corriendo hasta que con la misma cola le dio un zarpazo a la iguana que la mato en seco.


image.png


Una presentación que me dejo con el corazón acelerado, quede impactada con esta escena. Me parece muy gracioso que cada vez que cuento estas historias de ella me emociono muchísimo jajajaja sin dudas es una niña asombrosa, por eso cuando quise aprender a observar la caza desde los ojos de los niños, supe que ella me iba a ayudar perfectamente. Le prometí que haría un post y que le pagaría por sus clases así que ella enseguida se puso manos a la obra. (Aunque confieso que igual si no les hubiese ofrecido nada, se que ellas me hubiese enseñado porque así son, no se guardan el conocimiento).

¿Como se caza en la selva?

Araña Mona

La primera lección se dio en el rio, me llevo una araña pequeñita y me enseño los movimientos básicos para cazar a la araña con mucha seguridad. Primero inmovilizarla con un palito, luego doblar las patas para sostenerla mientras se introduce la parte filosa del palito en el centro del cuerpo, específicamente bajo su tórax, luego con la ayuda de una hoja se agarra su trasero y se arranca para extraerle todo el líquido que tiene. En este caso como la araña era muy pequeña el líquido se utilizó como carnada introduciéndose en la cueva para que otras más grandes se sintieran atraídas.


image.png


Una vez que estuvimos listos y ya que la primera lección fue todo un éxito, la china emprendió su búsqueda de una araña mucho más grande mientras yo subía a la churuata a almorzar comida sabarari. Una hora después llegó con una araña mucho más grande y rápidamente me dijo que me preparara, fuimos corriendo y ella la soltó, me indico que volviera a realizar el mismo procedimiento que me había enseñado antes y esta vez con la ayuda de todas las niñas volví a intentar cazar y preparar una araña mona del tamaño de mi mano.



Mi mayor temor era que la araña se sacudiera y me dejara toda picada, pero realmente descubrí que no había nada que temer, si no se inventa y se hacen las cosas con cuidado no pasa nada. Ya luego fuimos al fuego y ellas colocaron la araña sobre el para quemar los pelos y poder pelarla, su sabor es como el de los camarones, aunque se abre como un cangrejo, tiene poca carne, pero es exquisita y llena de nutrientes.


image.png


Orugas


image.png


Por otra parte al día siguiente la lección continuo cuando a la churuata llego un señor ofreciéndole al abuelo una cantidad considerable de Orugas, ya anteriormente hice un post que hablaba de esta curiosa caza y del beneficio que esta tiene tanto para la comunidad como para el ecosistema de la selva.

Wild Edibles Challenge - Worms for dinner?

Siempre vi de lejos su preparación, pero me daba un poco de miedo agarrarlas con las manos porque sentía que me morderían, además que visualmente para mi que no estaba acostumbrada a comer esas cosas, me provocaba un poco de asco. Como allá fui a aprender busque la forma de olvidarme de todos mis juicios y volví a convertirme gustosamente en aprendiz de la china, esta vez no cazando pero si preparando el almuerzo para ese día. Un par de gusanos no me matarían o si?


image.png


El procedimiento es simple, se agarra el gusano, no pasa nada, lo pueden agarrar por donde quieran, el abuelo nos mostro como lo hace un verdadero hombre de la selva, pero como las niñas son condescendientes conmigo me enseñaron una técnica mas sencilla que consiste quitarle la cabeza al gusano y luego por el lado opuesto introducir el palito empujando para darle vuelta y sacar la tripa y todo el estomago de la oruga. Esto luego se lava y esta listo para cocinar. La preparación mas común es rebozándolos en un licuado de maíz y para luego pasarlos por aceite hasta que queden esponjosos. Su sabor es simple, realmente no es asombroso, se mezcla bastante con el sabor del maíz por lo que es un acompañante neutro pero bastante nutritivo eso si.


image.png


Todos tenemos culturas diferentes, el ser humano tiene la capacidad de adaptarse a su entorno para sobrevivir, la alimentación típica nace de esta forma, las cosas autóctonas que tenemos nos cuentan una historia en la que nuestros ancestros han tomado de la tierra sus mejores frutos y los han convertido en medicina para el cuerpo que habitamos.



Esto ha sido todo por hoy, espero hayan disfrutado de esta bonita experiencia que les relaté, para mi ha sido todo un honor poder traerme este valioso conocimiento que me enseñaron las niñas Wóttüja, que aunque es muy poco para todo lo que saben, es un inicio para todo lo que seguiré aprendiendo allá con ellas. Un inmenso abrazo cargado de las mejores energías, hasta la próxima. Adiwa!

PD: Todo mi agradecimiento a Max @sv94 por tan bonitas fotos y vídeos.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency