Movement As Medicine, Movement As First Aid

"Oh My G-d!! Are You OK? Here... Sit Down."

It's a habitual response to injury, to ask someone to sit. To NOT move.

Today I had a "little" accident at home. I was hot and tired after lunch, and so I had a short nap (or so I thought) before 4pm yoga class. I overslept. Didn't hear the alarm and woke 90 mins later in a pool of sweat on the sofa. Missed the yoga class. Damn. So I grabbed my soup bowl and plate in one hand, and my glass in the other, and headed downstairs for a drink.

I tripped on my longish skirt and missed my step on the 5th last step and HEARD myself bounce painfully down the last 4. On my coxyx and my butt, scraping my back on the solid teak stairs and banging my recently healed elbow. I was, and am, home alone.

Stairs.jpg

MovementMedicine2 2.jpg

MovementMedicine1 2.jpg

I shall spare you the fetching pics of my right butt cheek, which is already coming out a nice rich red-purply colour, and my elbow. 🤣 Seriously, how did people assess thier injuries before selfies? 🤣

I lay at the bottom of the stairs for at least 5 mins in screaming pain. Elbow and coxyx thumped down the stairs together? Wow - it's been a while since I had such sharp pain. The nice thing is the slo-mo way the mindful brain watches itself at times like these.

"Move. Try"
"No! Something might be broken!"
'Ok. You can move your fingers? Turn your head?"
"Oh no. That was my favourite soup bowl. And I knew I should have changed into shorts when I got home."
Swimming through sharp, strong pain like a mermaid emerging though sticky molasses.

And then I heard her. My inner healer. She's such a tough and heartless bitch sometimes.

"OK. Now get up and move. Stretch. Twist. Tell your body she's OK and it's all just superficial. C'mon. Enough feeling sorry for yourself"

And so I did. I stood up slowly and stood for a full 5 mins in a complete forward bend - both palms on the floor, and straightened my knees. I felt my spine straighten and pain shooting around faster than a 5 year old on red kool aid.

I bent my arms - nothing broken.

And then I sank into a deep Asian squat - knees out - and oh my sweet Buddha did that hurt at first. And then I breathed into the sore spots. And had a dialogue with them. TOLD myself that healing is already started. And it started to ease.

I was able to stand. Bit wobbly. Walked around the downstairs of the house for 5 mins. Sank back into a deep squat for a full 5 mins more. Painfully stood up.

"Get upstairs!" she barked. "Don't let that fear of stairs or that feeling of "can't" solidify! Move!! Your body KNOWS what to do!! Keep it all Flowing.. And so I did. Up, down, up, down. Holding the rail. Feeling stronger each moment.

For nearly 2 hours since I fell I have walked, stretched, squatted, twisted, and held a running, constructive, healing dialogue with myself.

Only now I am allowing myself to sit for 30 mins. Needing some pillows 😆 and pretty sore, but moving almost normally.

After I have sat here and "FELT" into my bruised bits while I write, I will migrate to the sofa and apply Near Infra-Red Light. Mindfully sitting now for a little while only and feeling into what still hurts after the movement tells me exactly where my Flexbeam light needs to be placed.

Recently, low level light therapy (LLLT) with near infrared light-emitting diode (LED)-based systems (LED-LLLT) has attracted attention in acute and chronic pain relief and in many aspects of wound healing, particularly for pain control, blood flow enhancement and relaxation of muscle spasm. Source.

MovementMedicine3.jpgSource

I know the almost 2 hours of gentle movement immediately after the accident has stopped swelling accumulating in one spot and has enabled my body to mitigate the worst of the brusing already. Mentally, moving has given me a different mindset - a more fluid one - about what could have been a lot worse.

Will I ice it? No!!!! NOT recommended for injuries anymore.

"..a 2008 meta-analysis published in the Journal of Emergency Medicine, which looked at multiple studies on cold therapy’s effect on acute soft tissue injuries, concluded there is “insufficient evidence to suggest that cryotherapy improves clinical outcome in the management of soft tissue injuries.” Similarly, a 2012 paper published in the Journal of Athletic Training, which reviewed multiple, peer-reviewed studies, noted that the practice of using ice to treat sprained ankles “is based largely on anecdotal evidence” and that “evidence from [randomized controlled trials] to support the use of ice in the treatment of acute ankle sprains is limited.” Source

Even the doctor who coined RICE no longer promotes it. “It’s perfectly fine to ice if you want, but realize it’s delaying healing,” Gabe Mirkin said, “[Icing] is not going to change anything in the long term.”

I will alternate tonight and tomorrow between Near Infra Red Light treatments on various sore spots and gentle yoga at home. Magnesium footsoak tonight and again tomorrow, colloidal silver applied directly to the broken skin and Magnesium Chloride sprayed liberally, most places that hurt. Tomorrow when any internal bleeding has stopped, I will gently massage in warming Phlai Balm to begin to dissipate the bruising and speed healing.

I just enjoyed an anti-inflammatory evening cocktail - freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly squeezed turmeric and ginger juice, a squeeze of fresh lime and topped up with sparkling home made lychee-pomelo kombucha. Surprisingly delish, cool, thirst quenching and yum!! I will be making that again!!

Feeling grateful. Moving. Healing.


Contributed as part of @naturalmedicine's MOVE IT Challenge.

Screenshot 446.png

All images used in my posts are created and owned by myself, unless specifically sourced. If you wish to use my images or my content, please contact me.


Hive Sunrise Gif.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business… yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals 3.png
Visit our online store here



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive


ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for & on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency