Spiced-Roasted Pumpkin with Coconut Yogurt

F36854799B7A4AF0A4EE86A21C188727.jpeg



An inspired plant-based meal that's easy to make with simple ingredients.
With Food Photography
.


The boredom of comfort food increases creativity in the kitchen. When I get bored of my sweet potatoes for my daily meal, I look to pumpkins.

In Indonesia, we can get pumpkin stock every day. There is no specific season for pumpkins.




Behind The Recipe


Usually, I only use pumpkin to make cakes. Then I searched the recipes on the internet for a while and adjusted the ingredients that I had in the kitchen.

I just have a few vegetables that are great to combine. There are baby corns, carrots, green beans.

So, I decided to make a “spiced-roasted pumpkin” serving with coconut yogurt and stir-fried veggies.

E4EA2C75B6604282916B8A848F9BD351.jpeg

There are many ways to serve pumpkin for the main course with a variety of selected spices. Here I am using only ground cinnamon which I think is the most suitable spice to go with pumpkins.

Follow how I prepare this meal. Stay tuned!




The Ingredients

1E8E671341564D488C5C08C3F93287FD.jpeg

  • 500 grams of pumpkin, unpeeled
  • 50 ml of vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons of ground cinnamon

For Serving

  • Coconut Yogurt
  • Stir-fried Veggies, tailored to the vegetables of your choice.
    Here I use a mixture of baby corn, carrot, and green beans. I cook them with simple spices, red onion, red chili, garlic, pepper, and salt.



Cooking Instructions

- Step 1


First, prepare the pumpkin for baking, and don't forget to preheat the oven to 250 degrees Celsius.

Wash the pumpkin thoroughly before cutting. Then cut into wedges.




- Step 2





- Step 3

AE9E77A8407A42B68D61093F2EC3A83C.jpeg
Dip the pumpkin wedges in the oil and ground cinnamon mixture. Or grease the pumpkin using a brush until it is completely coated on all sides of the pumpkin.




- Step 4

Roast the pumpkin for about 40 minutes. But it depends on your oven. If the pumpkin is not yet cooked, you can increase the roasting time by another 10-20 minutes by turning the pumpkin pieces over.

737FFFDE6A2840869042F3AA87B11FC5.jpeg




- Step 5

While the pumpkin is roasting, I prepare stir-fried vegetables. Prepare chopped red onion, garlic, and red chili slices, as well as vegetables that will be sauteed.

Heat the oil. Saute chopped red onion, garlic, and red chili slices. Once fragrant, add the vegetables. Add a little water and a teaspoon of salt.

1832234B048D46439E206B5D700163D6.jpeg

Cook until the veggies are cooked.




Serving Time

E88D557FDDA849228DD48585E3178229.jpeg

The Spiced-Roasted Pumpkin is done. It's so beautiful and juicy! Perfect!

Honestly, this is my first time cooking Spiced-Roasted Pumpkin and I am amazed by how juicy and fragrant they are!

Time to prepare a serving plate and some props for my food shoots.

Because this recipe is related to coconut yogurt, so I use coconut. The use of coconut in a photoshoot can enhance a good bright mood because of the white color of the coconut meat.

F5C5F3F54F224697BFEE0C5E0ACBFE04.jpeg




Added Spiced-Roasted Pumpkin to A Serving Plate

This will be a filling portion of my plate. I added 4 pumpkin wedges to the serving plate.

BFFE3F4EF84D4392B9F10224EE3D4E02.jpeg

It feels so tortured to wait to eat them. I have to finish this food shoot first.




Added Stir-Fried Veggies

I decided to add chunks of greens between the pumpkin wedges.

EB258C79A8594500990EFEBC32F25453.jpeg

This method is to make the plate look neat and have an impression with a certain shape.

I love the color components on my serving plate this time.




Added Coconut Yogurt

I don't just add the coconut yogurt on the surface of the pumpkin and veggies.

3A00F5495CBC489F87E8C44E786C1019.jpeg


I put coconut yogurt in a small container, I also happen to have a yellow-colored container.

I put the container filled with coconut yogurt on the top side of the whole meal.




Nom-Nom! Say Yes to Coconut Yogurt

488034871BBB4B9F9700D0EC14E50FAD.jpeg

You can use other types of yogurt or you can add cream or even mashed avocado.

Time to add coconut yogurt! Here the texture of my yogurt isn't too creamy but the aroma from the coconut is super great!

C1DBB4B032E8482DBC4EC97CF5361DED.jpeg

To add a little detail so that the plating doesn't get monotonous, I added a few slices of carrots.




About Texture and Taste

The combination of the Spiced-Roasted Pumpkin and the veggies I have looks good. Especially since I have baby corn.

E4EA2C75B6604282916B8A848F9BD351.jpeg

Some people don't like roasted pumpkin because it's a mushy texture. That's why these vegetable stir fry can enhance the nice texture of this dish.

Baby corn has a crunchy texture, like carrots and green beans. So you could say this is the perfect mix and the overall taste, savory, tasty, and a little sweet.

The fragrances of ground cinnamon and coconut are quite a good starting point to lift your mood.


See you again in my next recipe. Don't forget to leave feedback and thank you for your support!

Happy yummy day!

62E7EC9D8FC94EF0A4AD7AFCB60D0471.jpeg




Who is Anggrek Lestari?

Anggrek Lestari is an Indonesian fiction writer who has published two major books. Now She is a full-time content creator. She has a goal to share food content that makes others happy and can get inspiration for foods that are easy to make and contain elements of health.

Make sure you follow her blog as well for some interesting discussions about life other than food.
If you need a copywriter for your projects, Anggrek Lestari will be ready to help you.

Contact Person: authoranggreklestari@gmail.com
Discord: anggreklestari#3009

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency