Last Update from the Jungle

IMG_1130.jpg

Hey hello gardeners! :)

This is probably the last time I'm gonna participate in the #gardenjournal challenge by @riverflows.
As you might know this garden isn't my own, it's part of the property me and my man are house-sitting. But this chapter is probably gonna come to an end soon. We most likely will move out and back into the van by the end of the month.

I hope we can eat some more fruits from the garden before we go.
There's nothing better than eating what you've grown yourself!

Especially when it looks as impressive as these courgettes :)
I didn't know they could grow that big! And it kind of happened over night. Amazing nature <3

We also had a lot of lettuce and cucumbers, but the weather has been so very hot during the last four weeks (and we also still have a little problem with our water supply) that the plants were suffering a bit.

But fortunately the tomatoes, peppers and chili peppers didn't mind too much, so I hope we can enjoy some of them soon :)

I'm so excited, especially about the peppers! Never seen peppers grow before and it's really fascinating!

Our leek is also finally getting bigger. I have to do some research about the best time for harvesting.

We kept the vegetable garden quite simple, not too many different varieties, for it was our first time trying.

But we also have some old apple trees on the property. We were told that people used to grow them a lot in order to make Rakija, a fruit schnapps that's very common and popular in all the Balkan countries.

The trees seem to be all kinds of different varieties, most of them still need a while for the apples to ripen, but some are already ready to harvest :)
I plan to make some applesauce that we can take with us on our trip!

IMG_1121.jpg


I'm gonna miss the garden, it was such a great experience!
I have definitely learned a lot and look forward to having my own garden one day :)

Thank you @riverflows for your #gardenjournal challenge! It motivated me so much to write down these first gardening experiences and I'm gonna be super happy in a few years that I have it all on record :)

IMG_1134.jpg

all images by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency