Pina Colada Peddler Pudding Recipe | Prepper Cook Off Challenge

First I'd like to thank @canadianrenegade for hosting this Prepper Cook Off Challenge. Now I have a reason to show off my super cute pantry and elegant hand modelling skills.

This challenge also brought to my attention how unprepared I am should an Electro Magnetic Pulse knock out our power grid and devolve the world into chaos.

This is literally my fridge. The pantry and cold room aren't that exciting either.

blog 840 x 840-8.png

At least I have eggs.

After Jon made a grocery trip to the city, I had what I needed for the cook off - rice, canned coconut milk, and canned pineapple.

You're going down, suckers.

Just kidding. I'll feed you.

2.png

3.png

Ok, let me clear my throat, and dust off my musical theatre hat. AaaahhhhhhEEEEEMMMMMM... (Good luck imagining music with this.)

THE PINA COLADA PEDDLER PUDDING

Three cans of coconut,
some pineapple and rice.
What luck we have had
to find someone who is nice!
For a roll of dimes,
I will feed my group.
(The peddler shuffles away...
he had to go poop.)

One mile north,
there is a boat!
What luck we have had
to find a boat!
We must carry on.
We cannot stop.
The secondary location
might have a pot!

Six hours later,
there's an earthship in the woods.
What luck we have had
to find a place stocked with goods!
A beautiful pantry,
a pot with a lid!
There is gas and water
completely off grid!

Three different spices,
and one wooden spoon.
What luck we have had
to find a spoon!
Let us all rest
Never mind the mice.
Our bellies will be full,
on Pina Colada Rice.

Here's what happened next:

IMG_6576.jpeg
This is the pot we found at the earth ship. What luck, it was cast iron. I suppose all the people who used teflon are already dead.

blog 840 x 840-13.png
We also found a can opener. What luck. (I couldn't get it to work in my song.)

blog 840 x 840-14.png
I turned on the gas, then added the three cans of coconut milk to the pot.

blog 840 x 840-15.png
I could not find measuring cups, so I used the cans to get a 2:1 ratio.

blog 840 x 840-16.png
I added one and a half cans of rice to the pot.

blog 840 x 840-17.png
Stir.

blog 840 x 840-18.png
These are the spices we found. Ginger, cardamon, and cinnamon. What luck.

blog 840 x 840-19.png
I used a pinch of each spice.

blog 840 x 840-20.png
Stir.

blog 840 x 840-21.png
Once it reached a boil, I put the lid on and let it simmer on low for another 10 mintutes. Then I turned off the heat and let it hang out for a another 10 mintutes. (cast iron keeps it hot)

blog 840 x 840-22.png
Meanwhile...pet a duck in your bare butt. What luck we found a duck.

blog 840 x 840-23.png
When the rice was done, I took the lid off, and fluffed it up.

blog 840 x 840-24.png
I opened a can of pineapple...

blog 840 x 840-25.png
Dumped it in...

blog 840 x 840-26.png
Mixed it up...

blog 840 x 840-27.png
And served it with a lamb roast. What luck, my group found a wild dorper lamb to have with our Pina Colada Rice.

blog 840 x 840-28.png
My group loved it.

The Recipe

3 cans of coconut milk
1 1/2 cans of rice
1 can of pineapple
a pinch each of ginger, cardamon, and cinnamon

Dump the coconut, rice, and spices in a cast iron pot.
Stir.
Bring it to a boil.
Cover and simmer on low for 10 minutes.
Turn off heat and leave it for another 10 minutes.
Add pineapple.
Stir.
Eat.

Final Thoughts

This was tasty and I'd make it again. It's really just coconut rice with pineapple. But, I thought Pina Colada Peddler Pudding sounded fancier. I like fancy. I tried to use minimal kitchen tools to make this recipe. If I had a bunker, I'd totally supply it with a cast iron combo cooker, a wooden spoon, and a can opener.

Thank you @canadianrenegade for hosting this fun challenge. Now, can I borrow your pressure canner so I can make some homemade coconut milk to store? It's really tough to find canned coconut milk that doesn't have other gross ingredients in it like guar gum, cellulose and polysorbate 60 - and I want to be PREPARED!

#preppercookoff

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency