Funny Face

Chromodoris colemani 01 White.jpg

Chromodoris colemani

In this picture you see a Chromodoris colemani, also known as Coleman's sea slug. This little animal is a nudibranch, a kind of sea slug. It can grow up to 6cm. So I had to take my macro lens for this little one.
The Chromodoris nudibranchs are widely spread and you can easily find them during a dive. The best way to identify them is to take a picture because the're so many variations. Sometimes the difference can be just the color of their gills (looks like a crown at the back of their body) or the rhinophores (looks like the horns).
When I saw this picture on the big screen I start laughing. It looked like I disturbed the nudi and he (or she .. They're hermaphrodites) looked surprised. Anyway I wanted to share this one to show the amazing creatures down under the waterline.

Picture was taken in Moalboal - Philippines with an Olympus E-PL 6 - 60mm Macro lens and Inon D-2000 strobe.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency