A Rather Blustery Day said Pooh - A Walk at Stanage Edge

We didn't pick a great day for our walk to Stanage Edge. With strong, biting wind we only just managed to keep upright as we walked to the millstones. I know how Winnie the Pooh felt when he experienced his own rather blustery day as the wind nearly knocked me over.

The millstones are scattered all around. I spot more everytime I go. In the summer months they are hidden under the bracken but during the winter they are more noticeable.

The production of millstones was one of the industries of the Peak District in the 14th century. The millstones were quarried by stone masons. When the industry ended, a lot of the millstones were just left scattered around.

It was quite overcast and bleak looking on the day. Even though I was wrapped up, it wasn't a pleasant walk. I was fighting the elements and trying to keep my camera still all the time. After getting a few photos we decided to cut our walk short and head off back home.

Photography by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency