Don’t be Complacent with your HIVE Account

image.png

So I was minding my own business , looking at one of those Centralized Social Media platform, Face Book in fact,

When I saw a post on my Feed that was from the HIVE.Blog Face book Page, They had reposted my profile pic with a promise of 10,000 HIVE Giveaway

So I clicked on the post, and it took me to the HIVE.Blog Face book Page, I looked at the post and thought this looks very suss, so I added a comment to the post,

this looks suss and unreputable I wrote

Then I left the page.

That was two days ago

Overnight I found that my HIVE account had been hacked.

They accessed HIVE Engine and cleaned me out of all Liquid HIVE and other Tokens.(Yes all Liquid and started power down and un-staking processes)

The account that it all went to is there in the transactions.

Many of my friends that are diligent in monitoring HIVE activity alerted me to the fact.

Now how did they get into my account, I still do not know, I had not entered my passwords into anything, so it is still a mystery.

Big Lesson learnt.

I will be monitoring my account activity very closely from here on out.

I will be changing my passwords and Keys on a regular basis.

If I see any more activity on the account that is not of my doing I will close this account and start a fresh one.

But what I urge people to do is

  • always monitor the activity on your account
  • Always change the passwords and keys on a regular basis , especially if you see unauthorised activity (If you need to know how, let me know and I will add how to in your comment)
  • And stay away from any links that appear in your feed from HIVE.

Lesson Learnt, Dollars Lost, but we move on and keep on keeping on, because that is what we do

Thanks to all the community members that alerted me to the issue and thanks to all those that have offered support

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency