This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Caring For My Skin Health

The skin has always been one organ I find interesting. Something crazy could be going on in one or several parts at the same time, and some other parts seem to be in perfect condition. You then have to be extra careful in dealing with the affected parts so as to gain uniformity at the end of the treatment.

Well, uniformity is far-fetched, at least for many. These days, the media portrays the illusion of a 'glass skin' being the perfect skin. It's almost as if people forget that actual skin has pores and hyperpigmentation. There isn't perfect skin, just healthy skin. At least that's what I think.

20221021_140022.jpg

I've always tried to do my part for my skin by moisturising, the fact that I don't like ashy skin is enough reason to, and my mum pretty much imbibed the habit in me. Ashiness is the least of my problems, I didn't realise how bad my skin problems were until they caused me discomfort.

I got to talk to a lot of ignorant doctors about my skin growing up, safe the very first one who gave a diagnosis I would come to find out was accurate years later. My skin problems were hormonal and from my observation, a sugar spike could worsen it.

I learned about insulin in school but I didn't learn about the physical manifestations of insulin levels on the skin. It's funny because I had a whole course on hormones but it didn't click then what my hormones where doing on my own body.

Cystic acne is one of the things I've had to deal with and a major misconception about acne of this sort is people thinking they can cure it. Lol. No amount of beauty product or even eating right is going to cure it. I've come to find the human body really weird, doing whatever it pleases.

I still do my skincare and try to eat right, but my main struggle is reducing my stress level and getting more sleep. Stress can aggravate matters and cause a breakout that is usually hard to come out from.

My saving grace recently has been topical drugs and staying away from more sugar than I can handle. I'm also conscious of what kinds of sprays go directly onto my skin, especially my underarms because some ingredients can trigger hidradenitis suppurativa flare-ups.

It's not easy having to care of this delicate skin, doctors appointment cost money, drugs cost money, skincare products cost money, even food cost money, lol. The things that help are; I try to eat healthy, exercise, reduce stress, wear lose-fitting clothes and be happy no matter what my skin looks like.