Garnitzenklamm (gorge) | icy trail - ice-free water

Before I carry on posting my photo trips from last year, I want to show you some images of my first photo trip in 2023: the Garnitzenklamm.

Garnitzenklamm - icy trail and ice-free water - Johann Piber

Garnitzenklamm
icy trail - ice-free water

The Garnitzenklamm is a 4.5 kilometers (2.8 miles) long gorge near Hermagor in the Gail Valley (Gailtal) in Carinthia. There are a lot of waterfalls and awesome rock formations and you should not forget to visit this gorge when you are in Austria because it's really worth it.

Google Maps: Garnitzenklamm
Homepage: Garnitzenklamm (English)

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Above and below are views down from one of the wooden bridges over the brook. I just love the colours and the textures of the rocks. And looking down on the other side of that bridge you can see these cool looking boulders in the middle of the brook.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

If you want to hike till the end of the gorge you will need about 3 hours to get there, but there are also several circular routes that will take up to 5 hours.

When I was there on January 6, 2023, I hiked only the first part of the trail which took me about 2 hours one way because I took some photos on the way. The normal hiking time for this part would be about 45 minutes. The trail was quite icy in places and I was still recovering from the flu so I didn't want to overdo it and get home safe.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

As said above, the trail was quite slippery at most places. There was not much snow in the gorge, but the trail was mostly covered by that white stuff. Also, the snow was frozen and thus slippery, as well as the parts of the trail that were not snowy, have been icy and slippery too.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

To the left of the above telephoto shot of the brook is a huge waterfall, but because of the icy snow and rocks I couldn't get there. I was able to take the image below of the bottom part of this raging waterfall though.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

It's Winter and so I was hoping for icy waterfalls, but there was more ice on my trail than in the brook. That's why my photos don't look much different from the images I have taken a few months earlier in Summer 2022. But if you look closer you might see that some of the rocks are covered in ice, but unfortunately there were no icicles.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

A little further up the trail the brook is running slower and there are these little pools of water with small waterfalls. I love the green colour of the water.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Almost at the end of my hike there's another bridge across the gorge and below there are a few lovely waterfalls. These belong to my favourite waterfalls and I had to take some photos, of course 😀

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The further trail leads along the right gorge wall and from there I could take another close-up photo of the upper waterfall. The rock and leaves behind the waterfall are certainly iced.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

And some more close-up photos of a little waterfall along the trail.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Once more I have to say that I love the colours and textures of the rocks and boulders which are quite unique, I believe.

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

And at the end of this post one last image of a small waterfall that I photographed on my way back to my van.

It has been snowing a lot in the past days and if I have enough time I want to visit this gorge again next weekend. I am sure that by then there will be icy waterfalls and I do hope to get some "cool" images ❄️

Garnitzenklamm in Winter - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I thank you very much for scrolling down till here and hope you enjoyed my short hike a little bit.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

>>> Vero/johannpiber <<<

Some of my Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace and on the Foundation Plattform

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free here! or here or here


2023-01-23
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.60064 lat 13.36302 long 20230123-Garnitzenklamm d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
102 Comments
Ecency