In 'My' Ideal Country....

An ideal country should be one with happy and satisfied citizens. If I was given the opportunity to create my ideal country then I would gladly put all my great ideas to work.

I have lived in a country that I tag as "unideal" for the greater part of my life and sometimes I just wish I could change things. You may ask; How would a leader have peace of mind when nothing, absolutely nothing is going well in his country? Well, Nigerians could give you a comprehensive answer to that question.

1_20230313_141616_0000.png
Image made with canva

To the question of the week;

What if you could create your ideal country? How would it be?

There are certain things that I would put in place to ensure the happiness of the citizens. Some of which include:

Education

In every country, there is the rural area and there is the urban area. In my country,one could easily spot a person living in a rural area from the words the person spews out of his mouth. I would gladly love to change that.

What would I do?

I'd ensure that there are an adequate number of schools around and also a safe learning environment. Everyone deserves an opportunity to learn. You could ask a person why he or she isn't in school and the majority would tell you that they can't afford to go to school due to the high cost of school fees and textbooks. It breaks my heart whenever I hear things like this and to create my ideal country, I'd tackle this issue first. You can't have an ideal country filled with illiterates.

Curbing of Crimes and Corruption

I would love to say that I would totally eradicate corruption but I've come to realize that corruption can only be curbed and not totally eradicated, the same goes for crimes. You come up with one way to tackle corruption and people are somewhere creating more tricky ways to go about corruption.

What would I do?

Throughout my years spent in my country, the only places I've seen CCTV cameras are in private owned businesses and firms. The installation of resilient CCTV cameras in each and every corner of the street would help reduce crimes.

Another way would be employing tested and trusted people to work for the citizens (afterall, the citizens pay them through taxes). Many government officials make their way into their office through corrupt means or through connections. Leading to a nest of unworthy and corrupt people in the government. I would change that by flushing the system and eradicating bad blood from the government.

Provision of Basic Amenities

You hear politicians say things like "If I'm elected, I would build more hotels. I would build more stadium" etc, when in the actual sense, there are supposed to be creating more boreholes and ensuring constant light.

Fortunately for me, I never had to deal with light scarcity because I live in an area with somewhat constant light but people in the neighbouring streets wouldn't agree with me.

I see people washing dirty clothes in streams, drinking from streams, using stream water to cook. It gets worse. Some places don't even have streams so they have to trek lots and lots of kilometres to get water! Water that should be a few steps away?!

What would I do

Constant light is needed for the proper regulation of water. You can't have one without the other. I would build more power plants. There are basically five type of power plants that I know:

  • Nuclear power plants
  • hydroelectric (water to electricity)
  • Thermal (heat to electricity)
  • Solar(UV rays to electricity)
  • Wind (wind to electricity)

Nuclear power plants are by far the safest and most effective type of power plant and yet in a country like Nigeria there is none, not even a single one.

I always choose quality over quantity and as such, I would choose the best option for my country. With the installation of nuclear power plants, there would be more electricity to go round and from there, I can go ahead to build more boreholes for easy access to water. This would be like killing two birds(problems) with one stone.

The list of the things I would do to create my ideal country is lengthy and I wouldn't want to bore you. I have listed a few and the few I have listed would go a long way to make an ideal country.


Source

"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world."
–Nelson Mandela

This is my entry into the 26th week of the queer contest. More details can be found here.

With love, wongi ✨

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency