Leaving my comfort zone: the step that shaped me

Growing up, I had a warm, loving family that provided for all my needs. My parents created a nurturing environment where I always felt safe and secure. However, that sense of comfort also bred complacency. I became overly dependent and lacked motivation to challenge myself.

When I got admission into the university was when I started leaving alone, at first I did not like it because I was so used to home. Then I graduated and I couldn't go back home, not because I couldn't but because I knew that if I went back I would not discover my true self.

When I finally did move into my own place, it was overwhelming at first. Simple tasks like grocery shopping, budgeting, and maintaining a household felt like monumental challenges. There were moments of loneliness and self-doubt, wondering if I had made the right decision. There were times that during shopping, I was cheated and when I realize I was cheated I learnt not to make same mistake again.

Gradually, though, I found my footing. Each obstacle I overcame bolstered my confidence and resilience. I learned to Problem solve, prioritize, and rely on my own judgment. Suddenly, the world didn't seem so scary anymore.

I also discovered a sense of identity and purpose.
Away from the familiarity of home, I was forced to truly know myself – my strengths, weaknesses, values, and aspirations. I made new friends, explored new interests, and charted my own path in life.
Leaving that cozy nest allowed me to spread my wings and soar into the person I am today.

**Images are mine **

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency