Balancing Growth and Values When Leaving My Comfort Zone

Stepping out of my comfort zone is something I do regularly. Sometimes it's easy to step out of my comfort zone, other times it isn't. Stepping out of my comfort zone is an experience that makes me nervous but it's necessary because it helped me grow and learn new things.


Image is mine

Leaving my comfort zone doesn't mean I'm going against my values. In fact, sometimes pushing my boundaries aligns perfectly with what I believe in. For example, speaking up against injustice might be uncomfortable, but it's in line with my values of fairness and equality.

There are times that the line between discomfort and compromising values can blur, this is where self - reflection comes in. When I'm being faced with a situation that makes me uneasy, I stop and ask myself, 'am I hesitant because this is new and scary or because it goes against my beliefs?'.

To differentiate, I'll have to consider the outcomes, if it'll benefit me and lead to personal growth without harming others or if it would compromise my integrity and hurt someone before taking the next step.

I also pay attention to my gut. It's uncomfortable to step out of my comfort zone, but there's an underlying sense that it could be rewarding. On one hand, when something aligns with my beliefs I feel a deep sense of joy and happiness and on the other hand, when something goes against my values, I feel a deeper sense of sadness that doesn't go away even when I imagine positive outcomes.

I believe it's important to regularly challenge ourselves and expand our horizons. But it's equally important to stay true to our core values.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency