Silencing The Enemy Within!

"Thank you for the invite, sir, but I don't think I can. handle it, I'm sorry". This was my response to one of my clients who had invited me as a resource person to the annual opening year training of the entire management and staff of the company.

It was during our discussion on the company's advert campaign for the first quarter of the year that he extended the invite. He had earlier told me that the company wants to push more resources into marketing and that they're bringing every staff on board to market and sell the company's products and earn commissions, which is extra income income aside from their salary. So the plan was for them to get some basic knowledge of marketing and sales and that's why he required my services but seeing that I declined, he asked to know why.

"Well, I'm not a public nor motivational speaker. There are professionals who can handle that. Moreover, I've not done this before". I replied hoping he would change his mind but he was having none of it.

"If I wanted a professional public or motivational speaker, I know where to find them, but I don't. I want someone who is not only skilled but has garnered field experience while marketing, and here you are"
You're not only committed and love your job, you're resilient and maintains a high level of professionalism. Remember it took you three years of prospecing and follow up before I accepted to do business with your station? Even when my responses weren't anything near positive, you didn't give up. You succeeded in bringing me over just like you did with others and that's why I want you share some of your secrets with us at the training¡".

He ended by saying "I know you can do it so give it a shot. I do understand the doubt you're battling with now because I do experience it too, but I always silence it with positive talks, learn that."

Hearing these words from him not only left me surprised and speechless, but somehow ashamed. I was disappointed in myself for not believing in me and doubting my capabilities. After finding my voice, I told him that I was going to do it, and that was it.


Having taken up the challenge, I set out to prepare myself and equally get the papers ready. I did some researches online, listened to podcasts of some notable resource persons to get some tips on how to deliver talks. My mirror became my sole audience. Morning, night, I would stand before it talking and demonstrating my speech, including positive self talks like;

I can do it

I'm bold, confident and will deliver this talk excellently, plus other talks.

Even while at work, I'll practice at every slightest chance available.
I equally listened to some motivational talks, something I rarely do, hehehe. I needed to be emotionally and intellectually equipped for the task ahead.


In the midst of all the practices and positive talks, lay the feeling of anxiety. Truth be told, it wasn't easy and the stress of the whole preparation was getting to me. The more I practiced, it was as if the anxiety increased. Whenever I remembered what was ahead of me, I'll just get a little agitated, and I'll start all over to feed my mind with positivity.

Another thing that helped me was talking to one of my elderly friends, who is a communicator..His words were;

"Believe you can and you will. See the audience as your clients and interact with them just the way you do with prospects and clients each time you go out there in the field".


The d-day came and I delivered the talk the best way I can. Although I felt a bit anxious at first but Iater relaxed when I saw how they were listening with rapt attention. I even saw the director, my client smiling and nodding his head all through.

While I was leaving, he walked up to me and said;

"Did you see how you delivered the talk like a professional. So eloquent and confident. Everyone was carried along because your talk was based on experience and not theories. I knew you would exceed my expectations. You should do more of this", he ended.

I thanked him for the opportunity he gave me to challenge myself and that it was a great privilege sharing my little knowledge with them. My gratitude was more on the trust he had on me, the encouragement and support. I was happy that I didn't disappoint neither him nor myself, and that I defeated that enemy within called self-doubt, lol.


Self-doubt is a common feeling that can affect anyone, regardless of their background or achievements. It can hold you back from pursuing your dreams or taking risks, and it can be a real confidence-killer.

The truth is, everyone struggles with self-doubt at some point in their lives but the key is to recognize it when it's happening and to find ways to silence that negative voice and embrace your worth.

Here are some ways to do so:

Reframe your thoughts. Instead of thinking "I'm not good enough," try thinking "I'm not where I want to be yet, but I'm working on it.

  • Practice self positive talks and affirmations whenever you notice the enemy within rearing it's ugly head.

  • Seek out positive people and experiences that lift you up and make you feel good about yourself.

  • Take risks, step outside of your comfort zone and try new things. This can help you build confidence and overcome self-doubt.

  • Lastly celebrate your successes: Whether big or small, acknowledge your accomplishments and give yourself credit for your hard work. Here we call it work and chop, lol.


This post was inspired by the QC Community Weekly Contest

Thank you for reading



Still the #threadsaddict 😂



Author's Photos

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now