My Former Beliefs,how I let go of them.

The city I was born into had this belief that a particular green snake was everyone's friend. They called this snake "Aka '' and my parents told me that they were used by our grandfathers to scare their opponents during war. The snake looks like a green mamba but shorter, slimmer and almost not hostile at all. The first day I saw the snake,I ran and kept a distance and started calling to my parents' attention. When my mom saw me she laughed and called me out. She told me that if anyone kills the snake,the person would bury it just the same way a human is buried. The person would buy a sleeping mat, powder,goat, wrappers and drinks for the snake's burial. If the person fails to do these things,he or she would face deadly consequences.

When I left my city for school, I saw a group of young boys who captured the same snake my mom told me about. They wanted to sell the snake for money. Later,I had a thought on this incident,I asked myself," These boys do not know about this snake,if they had killed it ,would the punishment be meted out on them?". Then, I decided to research the snake. After my research, I found out that the snake is non venomous. That's why my people feel it's never hostile.

After my research I went home and asked my mom if anyone had killed the snake and suffered any punishment before? She said no, but that's their belief. Combining the results of my research and information gotten from my mother,I had let go of this belief even till today.

Since my young age,I had believed I would be a famous football player. I love football games so much. I remember when I was in primary school, I was the best defensive midfielder then. Everyone loved me because I was social in terms of sports. I was the star of the football game in my school then and I believed I would one day be the Ronaldo of my time. I am a born fan of the red clubs, Manchester United and Liverpool.

Source
But as I started growing up and getting to know more about the environment I was born into, I learned that without support from parents or relatives or people you know who are financially well-to-do, I will never make it chasing football as a career. I debunked this hope and belief since when I learned that my country is never supporting talented young football players.

Most of my beliefs at a young age were all told to me by my parents. But now I'm growing and learning new things,I debunk most of them. It has actually become easy for me to let go of my childhood beliefs because almost half of them are verified to never be true by me. I can still remember when my parents made me believe that whenever I wake up and feel chest pain or head pain,it means that witches had sat and pressed me on the chest or head. I later learned in school that most of the pain we get when we wake up from sleep is due to the exercises we did during the day or our sleeping posture too.

When I learn these new things which go contrary to my unverified beliefs,it wouldn't be hard for me to easily let go of the beliefs. To be honest,I don't have any belief that I trust by a hundred percent,even my religion. Any verified facts to counter my unverified beliefs can make me let go of that belief. In a nutshell,I easily let go of beliefs by growing and learning new things.

Thanks for reading, have a great day😍😍.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency