The taboo word.. Qc prompt #93.

Hello everyone, hope you all are having a great weekend? I welcome you to my blog.

Just like the title of this post states, there are some words that are a taboo both to the mouth and the ears. When such words are mentioned, the hearers quickly scream and cover their ears or like in my country you will see them rolling their hands over their heads to ward off such taboo words while screaming "abomination" and "not my portion", hehe

No matter how we feel, there are just some things that must be said so that no one is taken unawares. Life on earth is limited by time and according to science, all life will decline and finally comes death, yeah I said it.

Death is a word that so many people dont want to associate with or hear about but like it or not, death is a circumstance that every living thing must encounter at one point or another. As unpleasant and unfriendly as that word may sound, it has visited every family on earth and it will continue to do so as long as life continues.

Some people feel like if they don't speak about death then it would stay far from their household but how funny is that. I have never heard that anyone cheated death or stayed it's cold deadly hands from coming to grip anyone whose time is up. That's just what comes with life.

All around us in nature we see the snippets of death ranging from a dead flower, dead plants, a dead rodent, a dead pet, a dead bird, dead wild animals in the jungle etc. From this alone we can see that no living creature can escape death, it is absolutely inevitable.

I don't find it uncomfortable at all talking about death, although it is a painful and sensitive topic to talk about, I understand it's importance and the plans that must be made in order for a smooth transition both for the family and their estate.

I lost my mom eleven years ago but I can still clearly recall the events that followed from her death down to her funeral. We had lost her to kidney failure and she was still in her prime ( 50years), so you can imagine the the pain my family and I passed through. My dad was the most devastated, so much so that he could not coordinate any of the needed arrangements on his own. Thankfully I was present as the first child and I stepped up to assist in running the arrangements for the funeral.

It was truly tasking but it had to be done to give my mum the final honour she deserved. I took charge of disbursing every necessary payments till the funeral day and even made the arrangements for transportation and entertainment for the guests. I had assitance from my aunts but I was the the one with the cool head during that trying period as my aunts became teary eyed once they were triggered.

It wasn't as if I wasn't emotionally affected, I simply chucked it down to do the needful to honour my mum. After the funeral, I had time to grieve her and make peace with her passing.

Do I fear death?

No I don't fear death. What scares me is dying without having lived meaningfully or impacting the lives of those around me positively and dying with regrets. Another thing that scares me is not leaving a legacy for my children and leaving them destitute to fend for themselves in this harsh world. This is what scares me not death in itself. I hope to die with a smile on my face knowing that I fulfulled purpose and my legacy would live on.

Thanks for reading..shalom

Images are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency