Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1242)

Hello Everyone!

Zoning out too much, Sorting the electrical gear, Washing containers & Finding some USB lights!

Alright, I am running behind schedule this evening because I once again started watching lame videos to unwind... and zoned out for way too long on it. I think that from now on I am going to just avoid doing that when I have some 'free time' before doing my evening writing... because I cannot seem to stop myself in a timely manner once I start doing it.

Last night I was not up super late or anything... but I also did not get to bed as early as I was hoping to. There is just way too much going on in my head (with the packing and moving) for me to 'turn it all off' like I do with most stuff and just fall asleep... which yeah is as annoying (and exhausting) as it sounds.

I did however get up rather early this morning and did my usual Hive engagement routine... before getting outdoors and making an early start on my day. Although I did not have a very clear cut plan on what all I was going to do... I headed over to the tent that has my off-grid gear in it to see what all I could accomplish.

Upon arriving over there (with the wagon in tow) I briefly considered hauling all the stuff that I had piled outside back over to the shelter site... so that I could wash it by hand instead of letting the rain do it since it has not been raining very much lately. After looking around in the tent though, I decided to focus on getting my electrical gear sorted through instead.

Not to get too lost on that particular topic... but somehow over the years I have amassed quite the assortment of wires, electrical parts, adapters, plugs and all kinds of other such items. All of which I thankfully have in order and it is not a big mess of tangled wires... but overall... I think that at this point most of it is useless... and to be blunt I might be better off scraping the copper to make some money.

Basically my thinking is that if I cannot see an immediate use for it (aside from music related stuff) that I should probably part with it... and not waste space with it by storing it. So I hauled the bulk of it (there is still a small amount of it in the tent) back to the shelter site... and poured out the containers onto the lumber that I have stacked on the sawhorses so that I could begin sorting through it all.

I also wanted to get all the containers the electrical stuff was stored in washed... because just like everything else... the rodents had left quite the mark on it all. Between sorting through it all (and getting things washed) it took me pretty much the whole day... but by the end I had roughly two piles of equal size in regards to what I am keeping and what I am tossing out.

During all that I found the lights that I had wired USB cords to (back when I was living off grid) but did not bother to test them yet to see if they still work. I also found several other battery operated lights (of the same or similar variety) and some more USB cords... so I might try to take some time over the coming weeks to add cords to them so that I am not trying to fiddle with them while camping.

Anyways, even though I stayed quite busy it really did not feel like I got a whole lot accomplished today... but at least I have a bunch more clean containers to work with. There are still a few more containers that need washing (that are still in or near that tent) but at this point I have gotten the bulk of them cleaned up... and either put to use (packing stuff into them) or ready to be put to use.

I am still unsure on how I am going to manage to get everything packed away that is in the cabin... but I have been saving the boxes from the items that I have been ordering for camping lately. Even though I really dislike the idea of packing stuff in cardboard boxes... I know that if 'push comes to shove' I may well have to... and just deal with the hassle of it later if stuff gets damaged, ruined or infested with bugs.

Well, I think that is all the words that I have in me for this entry. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


My largest black locust is shooting out a lot of new growth!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency