Morning Surprise - 6 Bantum Babies!

I was not happy when I found mama chicken this morning not sitting on her eggs! I got closer to her and she seemed defensive, so I checked and it looked like there were some of her eggs where she had her nest. I figured one had rolled off and she was sitting on it, so I tried to move her.

She pecked at me, so I gently pushed her off to the side. I was shocked to find 6 little babies underneath her! I quickly yelled for my daughter to come look!

There were five black and white babies and one brown one. I am so excited to see how these babies end up looking in the future!

In the past, I've tried to "help" mama by putting her and the babies in a separate area. This time, I plan to let her do what she thinks is best for them. When I try to intervene, the results never go well!

These are Bantum chickens. I got a few hens and roosters from a friend who called them Y2K birds. He said they had about 100 of them and they were impossible to kill off! Ours have been taking forever to reproduce, but maybe they'll do better now!

They are the tiniest little chicks and so cute! Mama is doing a great job of protecting them and not letting anyone near them.

I took over a little bit of food for them and she was showing them where it was. Hopefully they will survive and thrive!

These chickens are more independent and don't tend to sleep in the coop at night. They fly really well since they are so small. They call them pollo fino here.

So proud of mama and her new babies!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency