The journey of Homesteading | Meet my Quails!

Five years ago I was a full blown city boy and I was fine with it. It's like one of those mindsets you have because you just don't know better, you're used to your bubble and ignorance is bliss becomes true as hell.

Then I went traveling for three years, I learned about crypto and listened to a lot of points of view on many matters, both on Hive and in real life from people from all over the world.

I began to realize that the world I was comfortably living in is not real and that there is so much going on in the backstage that I was just not happy anymore with my life in too many aspects.

I stopped traveling thanks to the plandemic and I settled down.

One could say I have a libertarian mindset now, some libertarians might say I am not a real libertarian - but that's just a normal behavior from this subculture.

All I can say now is that I am anti-system, pro small as fuck government, and I have trust issues with every entity that has more than 20 people in their payroll.

One of the first steps a libertarian can take in order to live according to the way he thinks, is to begin homesteading and work towards the path of self sufficiency and every step he takes must lead to getting off-grid.

It will never be enough, and every time you think you are slowly getting away from the system you will realize there is no way to be 100% off grid and self sustainable, but we can definitely take away some of the power the system has over you by doing small stuff.

Homesteading as a way to fight the system

Whether you decide to grow your own vegetables, have your own small farm, trade goods instead of purchasing them etc, if you are going down the homestead path you know you will have to work more on a daily basis but, in the end, you will have more control over what goes in yours and your family's body, what chemicals you are exposed to and much more.

I now have my own flock of Quails

At first I wanted chickens to be able to have a healthy breakfast every day but after doing some research - and knowing myself and my own flaws - I decided to start small and see where I went from there.

Compared to Quails, Hens and chickens are much more demanding, they require a lot more space, they are way more noisy and they are obviously harder to maintain - and much more expensive.

So I decided to get eight infant Quails that were not giving any eggs at the time.

Quails require a lot less space than hens but they produce eggs on a daily basis whereas hens produce 1 egg every two days - or at least that's what the hens in this part of Mexico produce. They eat a lot less food and they don't require a lot of attention so, for a rookie homesteader like me they sounded like the perfect breed for me to start my homesteading journey.

A couple of weeks ago they began laying eggs. If you are a homesteader then you already know how amazing it feels to see those eggs next to them every morning. If you are not familiar with this feeling, then you will not understand how different it feels to have a fresh, healthy and chemical free breakfast from your garden.

I eat for breakfast a pair of eggs with veggies every single day and even though I buy organic eggs and vegetables, you never truly know what you are putting in your body until you are in full control of every step of the process. Now that I have these Quails under my care, I have to eat many more every day because a quail's egg is around 1/4 of a chicken's egg size.

A couple of days ago I noticed the production of eggs I was getting on a daily basis dropped, so I did some research and it turns out Quails are birds that get stressed very easily and with little to no stimulus they can drop their egg production if they get too cold, or feel threatened by other animals outside their cage, or maybe even by handling their cage too much - even though I am the only person that gets close to them and they already know me, if I handle their cage to often I will stress them.

So I have decided to make some changes to their layout, we will see how it works for me after this.

I will make a separate post about their cage changes and I will post some updates on their egg production, I guess this post was mostly to introduce myself to the Homesteaders Community and perhaps get some feedback from more experienced Hive members.

My next step is to get into vegetable growing, specifically onions, tomatoes, and zucchini which are the three veggies I mix my eggs with every morning for breakfast.

Slow but steady I guess.

If you have any tips, links or recommendations for both Quails and veggies please do share them with me, I am very excited to be on this path and I am more than willing to dedicate some time every single day to make this experience and learning as best as I can.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency