Some friends are just your friends no matter what!

CA9AB014-8C25-4FAC-A95B-10277284FCB0.jpeg
My son

This evening I had WhatsApp chat catch-ups with two different friends that I haven’t chatted to in ages. These aren’t just any friends. These are lifelong friends that have stood the test of time and still show up for us and us for them.

I’ve known Andre for 24 years (and I couldn’t find a decent photo of us together) and although we don’t see him and his family all too often, they’re the type of friends that get invited to close family gatherings when other friends aren’t invited. You know, it could be awkward if your other friends find out, that sort of thing.

8546728E-B201-4523-BD3B-44F3D8F7D601.jpeg
A Throwback of Simon with my kids years ago!

Then there’s Simon, husband to @l0tti3 who has been like a brother to me for 26 years and counting. Through thick and thin it’s been an adventure and 5 years ago we welcomed his wife Charlotte into the family as well. (Looking forward to our lunch next Sunday!!) These are friends that come to Christmas Lunch and ARE FAMILY TOO!

6FE7E754-09CD-4A1E-A310-EDB59F1246F3.jpeg

And then my dear friend Michelle came into my life through our church choir. I was directing and she was singing and we quickly formed a strong bond. We are the friends that can vent and sharpen each other and say the hard things that build each other up. Those are the people you can trust deeply and feel safe.

With all of these good friends we have the capacity to miss each other for months and months on end and eventually book a gathering at one of our houses. And the crazy thing is that it feels like nothing ever changed, like the time apart has made no difference to our friendships and relationships with each other.

It seems like we happen to pop each other an encouraging message at just the right time or ask how someone is doing at a critical moment. I believe these little coincidences or happenstances are ordained and are the ties that keep us friends that will go the distance.

I guess sometimes when I haven’t been in contact with one of them for a while I ask myself why they haven’t messaged me??? But I’m their friend too. So it’s also up to me to maintain that connection with a hearty HELLO! And that hello never goes unanswered and is never disappointed.

In this time that can be so disconnected I am so pleased that I have these folk in my life that will always jump into a 30 minute WhatsApp chat, catchup on life and know that someone else on the other end cares.

6C96690D-1145-41B9-B240-D4FD18784F27.jpeg
Random pic of my Clan that time we all made it to the top of Lions Head Mountain together a couple years back - never to be repeated by at least two of them 😂

I thank God for these people, because good friends aren’t always easy to find. I hope you’ve got your tight crew around you. If not, it’s time to find your people.

Cheers from my clan to yours…

0C08BA0A-7AEC-40DF-9160-BADC7B00694F.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency