My “Essential Five” contest entry

2AB5896B-6416-454A-A44D-CFCFA8F3DC32.png

Gosh I feel like this contest was designed with me in mind! 2020 has just solidified our new lifestyle which I plan to continue into 2021 and beyond.

The 5 Essentials that will not change any day soon are as follows:

HOMESCHOOLING MY KIDS THROUGH HIGH SCHOOL
097BD49E-A25C-44D2-9875-5E8ED3AA77DE.jpeg

061A7E77-44D4-4479-9C23-D6A79D350BE0.jpeg

I’m sorry but this one takes 2 photos because I have 2 kids and they are vastly different. My daughter will be graduating soon and has a passion for surf photography so this is where you will find her most days. Perched on the post of the boardwalk, photographing her friends.

My son is an introvert that loves gaming so getting him out is more our aim for him. We homeschool each morning online - I just make sure he logs in on time and then he manages well on his own these days.

HIKING OUR LOCAL MOUNTAINS
18C9C54C-5709-43A4-A9A1-5830A30E810D.jpeg

My aunt, my sister and I enjoy a good hike on one of the many paths around the Table Mountain Reserve. We are really spoilt for choice and get the most spectacular photo opportunities, especially first thing in the morning just as the sun is rising. We head out early before it gets too hot and have an early morning explore along the contour paths and single tracks. Followed by a good coffee at the Black Box Coffee truck.

LOVING MY ADOPTED CHIHUAHUAS
3F98837E-1DE5-4A5F-8321-867E73EF8FA8.jpeg

These 2 honeys, Minki and Max, came into our lives during lockdown after many of our plans for 2020 had changed. They are now so settled that I couldn’t imagine life without them. You’ll find them in my bed doing school with Seth every morning and sleeping with me every night. They’ve gone from a very rough start in life to spoilt rotten! And we love them to bits!

FINDING LOCAL GEMS
F1137221-2F08-461D-9BF6-870B5D5C5CB8.jpeg

I absolutely love being surprised by little spots that are near to home and this summer I found this gem of a place called Dalebrooke Tidal Pool which as you can see is stunning! We will definitely be visiting more regularly now that we know where to find it and look forward to calling it one of our local spots to relax. The Dalebrooke Coffee shop is also brilliant and serve the most amazing Apple Pie! Um, yes, you will find me here.

(Just an extra of me walking to Dalebrooke)
21672A58-8702-475D-AE5E-FB3D05ACEC35.jpeg

BAKING, BAKING, BAKING, BAKING
8121CBF5-7B1B-40EC-91C7-FE508CF53CF7.jpeg

I LOVE BAKING!!!! This is not going to change! Lockdown ensured that baking became an essential, unfortunately it has some side effects (called getting fat) which need to be mitigated. I’m constantly on the search for new, easy, homebaked recipes that anyone can make. The easier the better, but they have to be tasty. This is my marble cinnamon loaf - recipes in my blog - and it’s such a treat!!! Although it doesn’t last very long (Because it’s eaten). Baking will never go out of style, I just need to do more walking and hiking to keep up.

There are a couple more that I could easily add including my new Summer Squad bootcamp group and sweet dinners with my husband, but these 5 will do for now.

I’m tagging @giantbear and @steemiteducation @bulldog-joy to enter too!

And for the rest of you why don’t you check out the contest and participate via this link:
@jaynie/the-2021-essential-five-contest

I can’t wait to see everyone else’s Essential 5!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency