An Incredibly Painful Story Regarding My Digitus Secunda. That's Before My £9000+ Problem. A Funny Old Week.

As you read the following lines, please try and spot the evil, yet quite delicious irony that about a dozen paragraphs in, I accidentally hit the clear button in the @ecency editor and wiped everything I had written and had to start over...

Well it was all going a little 'too well'.

I should've realised something was coming down the track...

After a truly horrendous few months that saw me all but absent from Hive, I was back, excited and writing prolifically, and I realised once again, just how much I enjoy the many benefits that writing regularly brings.

Going back many, many years, little Steven always dreamed of being a writer. I presume it came from being such a voracious reader. I think somewhere deep within, I always adored the idea of my own words creating such a profound effect on others, the way I experienced from reading.

(That was a very clumsy and clunky sentence, but we should let that slide, right now, my fingers just wanna strike keys and create sparks).

This is the year I aimed to markedly step up my writing game and try a multitude of things to level up toward where I really want to be.

There are some incredibly exciting developments in that regard that I haven't spoken about yet, but I will in good time. I am looking at being in a position to earn enough from writing part-time to ensure I will never have to work overtime at work ever again.

Next step - To be able to work part-time within the next couple of years. You can guess the last step without any clues I am sure.

I have taken steps to bring this reality into sharper focus recently and look forward to sharing that with you very soon.

Back to the point of this post though, as I said I was typing with frenzied vigour again and was making great strides towards where I believe I should be in my Hive journey, I was flying, then BANG 💥 quite literally!

image.png

Sorry about the following photo's, if you are squeamish about bloody, maybe don't go any further.

The steel lid of a machine I use at work, slammed down on my finger... I remember the words that came from my mouth as if I muttered them only moments ago, they really were quite prophetic and maybe even a little philosophical:

AAGGGGHHHH Oh for ##f*$s ##£$@@~ my #+k&%^ finger oh my @##>>x@x finger

The message I was trying to convey with this slightly obnoxious tirade was 'isn't it strange the things that come out of the blue sometimes, occurrences that you were really not expecting. Life truly is a bountiful amalgamation of unexpected events, isn't it?

I work in a food factory and was wearing rubber gloves, obviously due to constant food handling and I was 10 hours into my night shift but not tired enough for my senses to be numbed sufficiently. For the second time in the last 7 years, I busied myself for a few minutes before removing my glove as I was not sure if the end of my finger was still attached... Nice!

Trust me when I tell you that none of these photos do the injury justice. The gash still hasn't knitted back together, with hindsight I should have gotten stitches but I was so dammed tired after my night shift that I could not face the idea of making my way to the hospital and was desperate to sleep.

This nail is now black as coal but as I cannot find my camera charger, I guess you're gonna have to take my word for it lol.

img_20210727_wa0003.jpg

Mmhmm. I really should have gotten treatment, probably stitches...

img_20210727_wa0002.jpg

Yup! These photos just ain't doin' it, they don't capture the gory reality, I am sounding like a baby - Haha

img_20210727_wa0001.jpg

Luckily it was indeed still attached & the gloves had performed their role and kept the rather large amount of blood inside until I could get to a first aid area. As always, in the factory I work in there is a full investigation of how the event happened, what could/should have been done differently, and what we can do in the future to prevent such a thing. A good idea, but carried out in an incredibly, overly bureaucratic manner.

My manager asked if I was going to be alright and I responded NO! She asked why and I explained that I was supposed to be writing a blog post that day. She laughed at my obvious joke that was actually only obvious to her as I was not joking in the slightest lol.

You see I had damaged my key typing finger or should that be my typing key finger, let me explain...

I have written before that I type like a proper old dude, with 2 fingers, for a guy who often writes posts with a 20 minute read time, I really should learn to type properly. Sadly I had hurt my digitus secunda, my digitus II, my forefinger, my Peter pointer, in a word I had really bloody hurt my index finger.

This photo is a year old... See I told you I used it a lot (somewhat tenuous link!)

img_0459.jpg

Did you know the index finger signifies the planet Jupiter and a person with an index finger that is longer than their middle finger is called a Jupiterian?

If ya didn't, ya do now!

Everybody that knows me says how I am literally full of it useless facts and irrelevant information. Maybe that is the reason I don't get invited to party's, huh?

So... Uhm... Yeah... I was a blogger with my primary typing finger out of action and 50% of my entire set of typing tools defective, defunct, and deficient, what's a guy to do, huh?

This all occurred almost 2 weeks ago and I am happy to say that my poor digitus secunda, although being a little tender is healing nicely. Concerningly though I have almost no sensation in the fingertip, I guess that when it fully heals and stops feeling tender that may come back, or maybe I have a little nerve damage.

Hey I will happily take it, after all as the British idiom accurately states, 'worse things happen at sea'.

However, 48 hours later, I realised this was an incredibly minor problem when a further setback with a £9000+ price tag came along, with only a matter of weeks to find a solution...

But that's a story for another day, namely tomorrow.

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post & if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way, I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each other both here & in the 'so-called' real-world & try & look after each other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable Roastmaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member & would like to be added to the team UK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency