[Blog #63] Glorious Hammock | Pandemic | Fixing Arrogance

Woop Woop fellas! How are you? Coming up with something that's not travel.


I’m addicted to having ideas. Every so often it’s grand ideas for a new adventure, one that ends up putting myself bikepacking across Europe during the winter. Some say it’s crazy, and it might be. Anyway. Most of the time however, what comes out of my dangling mind are just minor ideas. Ahhh those minor ideasthe best! For example, the hammock I’ve just hung at the balcony (from where I’m typing this post as the sun sets just behind me). It must’ve taken a few minutes of tying a rope and adjusting the length and voila! Endless joy.

The reason I brought the hammock story up is to exemplify something I’ve been re-learning after months locked indoors: to enjoy simple stuff when life gets off the rails.

I want to write about the techniques I am using to keep life going while traveling is restricted (it is also for non-travelers). The subject of this post might sound obvious for many but, if it has a chance to reach and help at least another soul, then it’s worth posting. Let’s go.

DSC_8071.jpg

Photo taken by me during the walks to ease anxiety

Life is about solving damn problems. That’s why adventuring around the world is awesome, because every day is a puzzle to solve and something to keep the mind busy with. I’ve accepted the terms and conditions and many moons ago bulletproofed my soul against emotional imbalances with such a tremendous freedom provided by a backpack full of essentials.

The quarantine came and so did anxiety. Mother fucker virus destroyed my freedomI thought. I blamed the virus, stupid politicians, swampy weather and so on. Never myself. My digestion went to poop; or lack of poop, as the stress level clogged my guts for good. How come I'm so terrible because of this stupid virus! At some point someone offered me a self-help book to clarify the ideas. Pff… I don’t need this crap. I’ve done absurd things by myself, I’ll sort this outI said.

Arrogance. Pure and utterly bullshit arrogant mindset.

Hidden from everybody, I started reading the little pocket book and the mind came back to its senses. Suddenly everything changed.

1. The first lesson from the little book

Desiring positive feelings is a negative feeling; accepting negative feelings is a positive feeling.

During the pandemic it's easy to desire all those things we cannot have. In my case, I’ve been dreaming with a sailboat or a van. The thought evolved around this sustainable and free lifestyle, which was positive and exciting. But, as the pandemic and economic crises increased, I realised those plans might be impossible to reach. I kept on watching videos of van builds, which made clear I had no chance of achieving that. Look at me. I don’t even have a job for fucks sake. My future is fucked up. The more I wanted to motivate myself, the less motivated I was. That’s the positive feeling (desire to move on with life) turned into a negative feeling (a loop of feeling like shit).

How did I solve? Accepting the moment was just terrible to push forward ambitious plans and that, if I was staying indoors, I’d better use the time to self-improve and work more. Write more texts. Photograph more. Enjoy blogging again. Hang a hammock. Squish the cat. Whatever. If not tomorrow, I’ll build the van after tomorrow then. The important take is to accept things won’t be easy, but sooner or later they’ll happen if given the effort. In the meantime there are plenty of exciting mini tasks that are also joyful.

2. The second lesson from the little book

This is intrinsically linked to the first lesson

Differentiate fault and responsibility.

The reason I felt shit during the pandemic ― and it serves for anything in life ― is that I attributed to anything the responsibility for me feeling poop. Politicians. Communists. They are ruining our nation’s future with stupid monetary policies!I thought. I had studied the monetary system from inside out and backwards and knew how devastated the economy would be ― of course anxiety skyrocketed. My blood pressure dropped and one day I had to seek help. No joke!

Why is that? Because I gave someone else the control over my life when I should’ve taken responsibility over my feelings. It sure is the dumb politicians fault for ruining the economy. But is it their responsibility I’m feeling shit because my future is uncertain? No! It’s my responsibility. If I know the economy is going to shit, I’m responsible to prepare for impact. There’s absolutely nothing I can do about the economy. But I can move my butt and find a way around the problems. Acceptance is key; followed by action is a winner.

I remember my mom every day when she stresses out if the dog pees on the corridor. When mom faults the dog she gives up control of the situation to the source of her blame ― the dog. Dogs pee where their smell is, it’s uncontrollable. She gives the dog control over the situation! Then she complains there’s white hair surging… I tell her: do not stress out, take responsibility for the problem. If you want to have a dog, deal with it or don’t have a dog.

You get the idea? Right?

To summarize: Life is one tough motha facka. Even more so for some individuals around the world. For most things there’s nothing we can do about it. But when something can be done, it’s our own responsibility to move the fat behind and do it.

Traveling is not the solution for life; it’s a problem creator. Solving problems is good; then traveling is good. Desiring to travel at the moment is negative; accepting we can’t travel at the moment and seeking other activities is positive. If you are feeling like shit, find me on Discord and I’ll send you a picture of my cat. Love you.


Thank you for reading this free writing piece and stay safe!

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency