Is this a Hive vacation?

Ancient fossils have been discovered on Hive.

image.png

There are so many cool people on Hive, but there are a lot more cool people hidden in the corners somewhere. They didn't give up posting or give up commenting but I haven't see them around so much these days. I guess it is vacation time.

I had so many things planned but could get nothing done this vacation. Two weeks past of constant rain. History shows that there hasn't been such a consecutive number of days of rain in Seoul in over 100 years. It's been more than 49 days since we have seen a completely dry day. This kind of made me gloomy and powerless. At the same time I became dreamy, thoughtful and in some ways just wanted to rest.

The summer English school camp was very difficult from planning to operation, but the kids loved it. Because of the pandemic classes were held online and then followed up with phone calls twice a day. I taught four grades and made twenty phone calls a day. The kids were awesome. One told me, "Hello my name is ___ Nice to meet you. That's all I know." Other kids talked and talked until I became behind. Some parents stood by the kid's side when the answered the phone and gave them all the answers. This was kind of awkward and maybe burdensome to their kids.

I really miss regular classes where were get dirty working with class and get wet throwing water balloons. A lot of the fun is lost. I spent too much time editing videos and not enough time making the camp alive. I gave students games and practice sentences and checked them. Everything was done according to the book, but it wasn't exactly what I wanted for them. I needed something more simple. During the winter vacation I will do my best to give students some art projects they can do at home and focus on working on really simple talk tips for each phone conversation.

Life is a lot of hard work and a little bit getting done. I thought that now that I'm back at school I could get a lot more done but I guess I'm still on vacation. I really just want to relax and think about nothing. I usually don't watch many movies especially not romance movies, but today I am watching "Star Girl" with Damian O'Hare and Darby Stanchfield. It's based on a novel from Jerry Spinelli. The movie reminds me a lot of when I was a teenager getting to understand others and learning that life is not just about me. Maybe I still have a lot to learn.

image.png

Star Girl

Star Girl asks Leo, "Have you ever done nothing? I mean absolutely nothing?" She says, "Now that I'm nothing there is no difference between me an everything else." I guess it is not so bad to be nothing. Social media seems to point to the opposite to making ourselves something. Star Girl has no phone or contact. She is nothing but she makes everything around her better at least that's what it looks like until the story takes a twist. It's hard to tell what to do nowadays when even kindness is misunderstood. Will Star Girl give up her home school background and blend in with other kids or will she continue to do good in spite of persecution and misunderstanding?

I don't like to admit I'm watching a Disney princess movie with a cheesy happily ever after Mary Poppins ending. But there is a message to appreciate life itself instead of instant gratification. It's a beautiful message. I don't need to be so upset about outward circumstances beyond my control but can find joy in very simple things, even a rain drop.

We are startdust

Cover Photo credit goes to Stefan Kellr from KELLEPICS.

Peace,

Enjoy your Day ;)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency